Evaluating Internet Resources
Government Resources
- Mental Health and Behavior Topics from MedlinePlus
MedlinePlus has extensive information from the National Institutes of Health and other trusted sources on over 650 diseases and conditions. There are also lists of hospitals and physicians, a medical encyclopedia and dictionaries, health information in Spanish, extensive information on prescription and nonprescription drugs, health information from the media, and links to thousands of clinical trials.
- National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism (NIAAA)
This site has lists of NIAAA publications including the full text of Alcohol Alert and the Special Reports to the U.S. Congress on Alcohol and Health. Grants information is provided. A link to NIAAA Quick Facts provides statistical information on alcohol treatment. Links are also provided to the ETOH database on alcohol related topics, NIAAA clinical trials, and other sources.
Organizations & Professional Associations
- NOAH - Mental Health Topics
"NOAH - (New York Online Access to Health) seeks to provide high quality full-text health information for consumers that is accurate, timely, relevant and unbiased. NOAH currently supports English and Spanish. "
Resources in Other Languages
- 24 Languages Project
Electronic access to over 200 health education brochures in 24 different languages, including Cambodian, Hmong, Somali, and Spanish. This project is in partnership with the Utah Department of Healths Bureau of Primary Care, Rural and Ethnic Health to improve access to health materials in multiple languages.
- MedlinePlus - Spanish version
MEDLINEplus has extensive information from the U.S. National Institutes of Health and other trusted sources on over 590 diseases and conditions. There are also lists of hospitals and physicians, a medical encyclopedia and dictionaries, extensive information on prescription and nonprescription drugs, health information from the media, and links to thousands of clinical trials.
Uof MN Licensed Resources
- PsycINFO

Covers all areas of psychology. Provides bibliographic citations and abstracts to articles from more than 1300 international journals in psychology and related fields. In addition, PsycINFO covers books, book chapters, and dissertations. PsycINFO supports searching cited references.
Page Coordinator: Jim Beattie jbeattie@umn.edu
Top