Accessibility Shortcuts

Skip to Content Skip to Main Navigation
UofM wordmark
185x140Header
HAVE A QUESTION? ASK US!
Email | IM | Chat | Contacts
(612) 626-4045
get firefox, the browser you can trust

Molecular Biology Databases

Print Page Print Page

Suggested World Wide Web access points for links to many molecular biology databases and related information:


National Center for Biotechnology Information - http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov

Biology WorkBench - http://workbench.sdsc.edu

University of Minnesota Center for Biomedical Research Informatics - http://cbri.umn.edu

University of Minnesota Supercomputing Institute - http://www.mis.umn.edu

Genetics textbook

OMIM - Online Mendelian Inheritance in Man

Source: Johns Hopkins University and National Library of Medicine

Scope: Detailed articles on diseases with heritable components

Access:http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/Omim

Map databases

MGD - Mouse Genome Database

Source: Jackson Laboratory (Bar Harbor, ME)

Scope: genetic information on the lab mouse

Access: http://www.informatics.jax.org

GDB - Genome Data Base

Source: Johns Hopkins University

Scope: chromosome map information including loci, polymorphisms and alleles

Access:http://gdbwww.gdb.org

FlyBase

Source: Biological Laboratories, Harvard University

Scope: genetic and molecular data for Drosophila

Access:http://flybase.bio.indiana.edu

Sequence databases

In addition to individual databases listed below, ENTREZ (http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/Entrez) gathers information from nucleotide and protein sequence databases as well as references to the molecular biology literature from MEDLINE.

Nucleotide sequence databases

GENBANK

Source: National Center for Biotechnology Information,

National Library of Medicine

Scope: comprehensive collection of DNA sequences

Access: http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/entrez/query.fcgi?db=Nucleotide

EMBL

Source: European Molecular Biology Laboratory

(Heidelberg, Germany)

Scope: comprehensive collection of DNA sequences

Access: http://www.embl-heidelberg.de, http://www.ebi.ac.uk

 

DDBJ

Source: DNA Data Bank of Japan, National Institute of Genetics

Scope: comprehensive collection of DNA sequences

Access: http://www.ddbj.nig.ac.jp

dbEST - Database of Expressed Sequence Tags

Source: National Center for Biotechnology Information,

National Library of Medicine

Scope: sequence amd mapping data on partial, single-pass cDNA sequences or Expressed Sequence Tags

Access: http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/dbEST

 

Protein sequence databases

SWISS-PROT

Source: Medical Biochemistry Department, Centre Medical University, Geneva, Switzerland

Scope: comprehensive collection of protein sequences

Access: http://www.expasy.ch/sprot

 

PIR - Protein Identification Resource

Source: National Biomedical Research Foundation (D.C.)

Scope: comprehensive collection of protein sequences

Access: http://www-nbrf.georgetown.edu

 

EC - Enzyme Database

Source: Medical Biochemistry Department, Centre Medical University, Geneva, Switzerland

Scope: collection of enzyme codes (EC), nomenclature, catalytic activity, and links to their amino acid sequences.

Access: http://www.expasy.ch/enzyme

PDB - Protein Data Bank

Source: Brookhaven National Laboratory Upton NY

Scope: 3D structures of biological macromolecules and related information

Access:http://www.rcsb.org/pdb

University of Minnesota Bio-Medical Library
Last Updated: 05/31/05