Accessibility Shortcuts

Skip to Content Skip to Main Navigation
UofM wordmark
185x140Header
HAVE A QUESTION? ASK US!
Email | IM | Chat | Contacts
(612) 626-4045
get firefox, the browser you can trust

Mortuary Science - Selected Resources

Print Page Print Page

Subject Description: This subject covers: the activities associated with the physical burial of the dead.

Abstracts and Indexes

* Premier Resources *


MEDLINE (OVID) Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service. RefWorks enabled 
    1966 - present, updated weekly.
Resource Guide: http://www.biomed.lib.umn.edu/files/SearchingOvid.pdf

PsycINFO Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service. RefWorks enabled 
    1806 - present, updated weeklyThe American Psychological Association.

Covers all areas of psychology. Provides bibliographic citations and abstracts to articles from more than 1300 international journals in psychology and related fields. In addition, PsycINFO covers books, book chapters, and dissertations. PsycINFO .....
[more information]

Academic or Scholarly Articles Subject Indexes


CINAHL Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service. RefWorks enabled 
    1982 - present, updated monthly.Cinahl Information Systems..

Resource Guide: http://support.ebsco.com/training/flash_videos/ehost2/2.0.htm

Family & Society Studies Worldwide On CD-ROM Format Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service. RefWorks enabled 
    1970 - present, updated monthly.
Search here to find citations and abstracts to articles and book chapters on family dynamics, marriage and family therapy, the family in society, and child development......
[more information]


Sociological Abstracts Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service. 
    1963 - present, updated monthly
Library Location: Print Version: Quarto HM1 .S67 (1952/53-present) WILSON Reference
Updated bimonthly, this core database for the field of sociology contins information on sociology and social policy worldwide. All citations and abstracts are in English. The database officially covers 1963 to the present, but includes many citations.....
[more information]

Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

The Morgue
    1997 - present
The Morgue attempts to provide students, scholars and researchers with an on-line tool specifically targeted at the literature in field of Mortuary Science.The database can be searched by subject heading by scrolling through the subjects indexed list.....
[more information]

General Indexes to Magazine, Journal & Newspaper Articles


Academic Search Premier Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service. RefWorks enabled 
    Coverage varies, some starting with 1975 - present, updated continuously.
Sources Indexed: http://www.epnet.com/titleLists/ap-fulltext.htm
This resource is licensed by the MINITEX Library Information Network with state appropriations from the Minnesota Higher Education Services Office (MHESO) and the Minnesota Department of Education.
The world's.....
[more information]

LexisNexis Academic Authentication Required 
    Varies by title.
LexisNexis Academic is a collection of online databases: News, Business (plus corporate news and corporate financials), Legal, Medical, and Reference. International news sources are included. .....
[more information]

Top

Catalogs and Bibliographies

Bibliographies


Mortuary Science : A Sourcebook John F. Szabo. Scarecrow Press. 1993.

Library Location: BIO-MED Reference ZWA840 S996m 1993
Bibliographies, by subject as well as -- 1. Associations and organizations. 2. College and university programs in funeral service education and/or mortuary science. 3. Funeral service state examining boards. 4. Accreditation standards of the America.....
[more information]

Catalogs


MNCAT Plus
Search MNCAT, the libraries' catalog, to find books, journals, etc. owned by the library. Search by keyword, subject, title, or author for materials on your topic......
[more information]

Top

General Reference Sources

Dictionaries


Burial terminology: a guide for researchers Roderick Sprague.. AltaMira Press. 2005.

Library Location: Wilson Library CC77.B8 S97 2005
Introduction -- Historical background -- The field guide -- Discussion of the classification -- Form of disposal -- Body preparation -- Individuality -- Articulation -- Position -- Deposition -- Orientation, alignment, and facing -- Grave goods or i.....
[more information]

Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Death Dictionary
Library Location: BIO-MED Reference W13 Q7d 1994; WILSON Reference HQ1073 .Q54 1994
Includes over 5,500 clinical, legal, literary, and vernacular terms......
[more information]

Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Dorland's Illustrated Medical Dictionary 1994.

Library Location: BIO-MED Reference W13 D711d
Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Stedman's Medical Dictionary Thomas L. Stedman. Lippincott Williams & Wilkins. 2006. 28th.

Library Location: BIO-MED Reference W13 S812m 2006
Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Directories


National Funeral Directors Association Directory of Members and Resource Guide NFDA Publications.

Library Location: BIO-MED WA840 AA1 N2
EXCEPTIONS: Latest edition in Bio-Med reference.

Encyclopedias


The Encyclopedia of Death and Dying Dana K. Cassell, Robert C. Salinas, Peter S. Winn. Facts On File. 2005. 1st.

Library Location: Bio-Medical Library HQ1073 C344e 2005
Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Champion Expanding Encyclopedia of Mortuary Practice
    Monthly (except Aug. and Dec.)Champion Co..

Library Location: BIO-MED Periodicals stack no. 41
The Champion Expanding Encyclopedia of Mortuary Practices is published and disseminated by the Champion Company to the embalming/funeral service profession and related professions. Current installments are available on the Web as pdf files. .....
[more information]

Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Encyclopaedia Britannica Online Authentication Required 
Concise as well as scholarly articles on a wide range of subjects. Also includes links to related Internet resources, and the Britannica Book of the Year. Search tip: When combining words in search, capitalize AND. For example: revolution AND .....
[more information]

Macmillan Encyclopedia of Death and Dying Robert Kastenbaum, editor in chief. New York : Macmillan Reference USA : Thomson/Gale. 2003.

Library Location: TC Bio-Medical Library Reference HQ1073 M167 2003
"The 327 signed entries, written by scholars and expert care providers, range in length from a few paragraphs to several pages. The focus of the entries is on exploring �the place of death in contemporary life,� although the encyclopedia also aim.....
[more information]

Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Handbooks and Manuals


A Brief History of Death Douglas J. Davies. Blackwell Pub.. 2005.

Library Location: TC Bio-Medical Library BF789 .D4 D255b 2005
1. Journey beyond -- 2. Parting�s sweet sorrow -- 3. Removing the dead -- 4. Ecology, death and hope -- 5. Art, literature and music -- 6. Places of memory -- 7. Fear of death -- 8. Purposeful and useless death......
[more information]

Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Handbook of Death & Dying Clifton D. Bryant, editor in chief.. Sage Publications. 2003.

Library Location: Bio-Medical Library HQ1073 H236 2003 ; Wilson Library Quarto HQ1073 .H36 2003
v. 1. The presence of death. Pt. 1: Death in cultural context -- pt. 2. Death in social context: variants in morality and meaning -- pt. 3. Death and social controversy -- pt. 4. Passing away: dying as social process -- v. 2. The response to death. p.....
[more information]

Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Death to Dust : What Happens to Dead Bodies? Galen Press.

Library Location: BIO-MED WT840 I78d 2001
Selected excerpts from the second edtion of Kenneth V. Iserson's classic Death to Dust. Includes: decomposition, death investigation factiods, funeral industry jargon and more......
[more information]

Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

International handbook of funeral customs Kodo Matsunami.. Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press. 1998.

Library Location: BIO-MED Reference GT3150 M434i 1998; WILSON Reference GT3150 .M27 1998
Outlines the general perspective on death held by the major world religions. Funeral practices in individual countries (organized by region: Asia, Oceania, Africa, Middle East, Europe, Commonwealth of Independent States, North and Central America, So.....
[more information]

Top

Internet Resources

Web Sites


Death: An Inquiry Into Man's Mortal Weakness
-- An interactive ThinkQuest site that explores the topic of death: from causes; coping with death to the finality of death & the uncertainty that follows......
[more information]

Death: The last taboo Australian Museum Online.

This online exhibition by the Australian Museum looks at what happens to us after we die; how different cultures dispose of, mourn and remember their dead and takes a remarkable journey through how death has been dealt with through the ages. .....
[more information]

Health Web - Mortuary Science
-- HealthWeb is a collaborative project of the health sciences libraries of the Greater Midwest Region (GMR) of the National Network of Libraries of Medicine (NN/LM) and those of the Committee for Institutional Cooperation. .....
[more information]

Sociology of Death & Dying
-- This meta-index of death & dying resources includes the following topics: cross-cultural issues; death in the arts and humanities; types of death; life after death; obituaries; memorials; religion; politics; euthanasia and physician assisted suici.....
[more information]

Top

Multimedia Materials

Image Resources


Acland's Atlas of Human Anatomy, Streaming Version Authentication Required 
Streaming Video of Acland's Atlas of Human Anatomy. .....
[more information]

An@tomy.tv Authentication Required 
The world's most detailed 3D model of human anatomy available online created by Primal Pictures. Includes features such as interactive zoom, rotation, angle, interactive layers, extensive text, MRI, clinical slides and xrays, live action movies, anim.....
[more information]


Top

Style Manuals and Writing Guides

Bibliography Software


RefWorks: Personal Citation Manager Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service. 
RefWorks is a web-based citation manager that allows you to create your own databases of citations by importing references from MNCAT and other databases, and then in seconds automatically generate bibliographies in all major styles (MLA, APA, Turabi.....
[more information]

Style Manuals


Electronic Styles : A Handbook for Citing Electronic Information
Library Location: PN171 .F56 L5 1996 WALTER SCI/ENG Reference; WALTER SCI/ENG Ref (Desk); MAGRATH Reference; WILSON Business Reference; WILSON Reference; MATHEMATICS Reference; BIO-MED Reference WZ345 L693e 1996
Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Health Professionals Stylebook : Putting Your Language to Work Shirley H. Fondiller, Barbara J. Nerone. National League for Nursing Press. 1993.

Library Location: BIO-MED Reference WZ345 F673h 1993
Handbook to help the reader write an essay or paper with proper usage and style for the health sciences. Pub. (National League for Nursing) ; no. 14-2551.....
[more information]

Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association APA. Washington, DC : American Psychological Association. 2001. 5th.

Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Writing Guides


How to Write and Publish a Scientific Paper 6th.

Library Location: TC Magrath Library T11 .D33 2006

Concisely covers all aspects of science writing, from choosing a title to acknowledgments and references: submission strategies; other forms of science writing (book reviews, theses, presentations, posters); English language usage......
[more information]

Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Top