Accessibility Shortcuts

Skip to Content Skip to Main Navigation
UofM wordmark
185x140Header
HAVE A QUESTION? ASK US!
Email | IM | Chat | Contacts
(612) 626-4045
get firefox, the browser you can trust

Nursing - Selected Resources

Print Page Print Page

Subject Description: This subject covers: the practice in which a nurse assists the individual with promotion, maintenance, and restoration of health.

Abstracts and Indexes

* Premier Resources *


CINAHL Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service. RefWorks enabled 
    1982 - present, updated monthly.Cinahl Information Systems..

Resource Guide: http://support.ebsco.com/training/flash_videos/ehost2/2.0.htm

MEDLINE (OVID) Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service. RefWorks enabled 
    1966 - present, updated weekly.
Resource Guide: http://www.biomed.lib.umn.edu/files/SearchingOvid.pdf

Academic or Scholarly Articles Subject Indexes


AMED - Allied and Complementary Medicine Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service. RefWorks enabled 
    1985 - present
Subjects covered include acupuncture, terminal care, symptom control, osteopathy, Chinese medicine, homeopathy, rehabilitation, occupational therapy, chiropractic, holistic treatments, and podiatry.

The Libraries' subscription to this resource .....
[more information]



PsycINFO Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service. RefWorks enabled 
    1806 - present, updated weeklyThe American Psychological Association.

Covers all areas of psychology. Provides bibliographic citations and abstracts to articles from more than 1300 international journals in psychology and related fields. In addition, PsycINFO covers books, book chapters, and dissertations. PsycINFO .....
[more information]


Science Citation Index Expanded (ISI) Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service. 
    1975 - present, updated weekly. The Institute for Scientific Information.

Resource Guide: http://www.biomed.lib.umn.edu/help/guides/woscited

General Indexes to Magazine, Journal & Newspaper Articles


Academic Search Premier Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service. RefWorks enabled 
    Coverage varies, some starting with 1975 - present, updated continuously.
Sources Indexed: http://www.epnet.com/titleLists/ap-fulltext.htm
This resource is licensed by the MINITEX Library Information Network with state appropriations from the Minnesota Higher Education Services Office (MHESO) and the Minnesota Department of Education.
The world's.....
[more information]

LexisNexis Academic Authentication Required 
    Varies by title.
LexisNexis Academic is a collection of online databases: News, Business (plus corporate news and corporate financials), Legal, Medical, and Reference. International news sources are included. .....
[more information]

Indexes, Other


CHID (Combined Health Information Database)
Includes information from 16 different databases created by agencies of the US Federal Government. Specific subjects include AIDS, Alzheimer's, arthritis, cancer, complementary and alternative medicine, deafness, diabetes, digestive diseases, epileps.....
[more information]

FIRSTConsult Authentication Required 
FIRSTConsult contains electronic text books, e-journals, drug info and more. First Consult provides evidence based answers to clinical questions and is designed for point of care professionals......
[more information]


Natural Medicines Comprehensive Database Authentication Required Therapeutic Research (publisher of Pharmacist's Letter and Prescriber's Letter).

Resource Guide: http://www.biomed.lib.umn.edu/help/guides/natural

Up to Date (AHC and Bio-Medical Library access only) Authentication Required 
UpToDate is a subscription-based electronic clinical database with searchable, up-to-date topic reviews. The topic reviews include links to related subjects, references, tables, charts, graphics, X-rays, video, and drug information. (On site access .....
[more information]

Top

Catalogs and Bibliographies

Catalogs


MNCAT Plus
Search MNCAT, the libraries' catalog, to find books, journals, etc. owned by the library. Search by keyword, subject, title, or author for materials on your topic......
[more information]

WorldCat Authentication Required RefWorks enabled 
    2150 BC - present (most records from 1968 - present), updated daily.
This resource is licensed by the MINITEX Library Information Network with state appropriations from the Minnesota Higher Education Services Office (MHESO) and the Minnesota Department of Education
Covers all sub.....
[more information]

Top

General Reference Sources

Dictionaries


Encyclopedia & dictionary of medicine, nursing, and allied health
     Appendices: Diagnostic tools. Assessment. Anatomy tables. Nutrition. Tables of weights and measures. Chemical tables. Immunization schedules. Symbols, terms, and abbreviations. Dental caries and restorations. Reference intervals for the interpretationW.B. Saunders. 2003. 7th.

Library Location: Bio-Medical Library Reference W13 E553 2003
Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Mosby's Medical, Nursing, Allied Health Dictionary
Library Location: 5th ed. BIO-MED Reference W13 M8941 1998
Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Directories


Nursing Career Directory
Library Location: BIO-MED Reference WY22 AA1 N9

Encyclopedias


Encyclopaedia Britannica Online Authentication Required 
Concise as well as scholarly articles on a wide range of subjects. Also includes links to related Internet resources, and the Britannica Book of the Year. Search tip: When combining words in search, capitalize AND. For example: revolution AND .....
[more information]

Encyclopedia of Health Information Sources
Library Location: BIO-MED Reference ZWB100 E56
Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Handbooks and Manuals


Clinical Nursing Skills and Techniques Perry, Anne Griffin; Potter, Patricia A.. Elsevier Mosby. 2006. 6th.

Library Location: Bio-Medical Library WY49 P462c 2006
Handbook covers fundamental skills and features evidence-based practice trends throughout the text. Also offers a focus on clinical practice and cultural considerations. Includes abundant full-color images and photos. .....
[more information]

Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Illustrated Manual of Nursing Practice Lippincott Williams & Wilkins. 2002. 3rd.

Library Location: Bio-Medical Library Reference WY100 I29 2002
Provides current information for nursing students and practicing nurses. Organized according to the nursing process and body systems. Gives an overview of all areas and provides data on clinical assessment and interventions: information that is based.....
[more information]

Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Lippincott Manual of Nursing Practice Lippincott Williams & Wilkins. 2006. 8th.

Library Location: Bio-Medical Library Reference WY49 L765 2006
Manual, in outline format, offers basic diagnosis and treatment options for all types of nursing care. Updated edition includes added or expanded material, association guidelines including the American Nurses Association, and full-color and halftone .....
[more information]

Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Nursing Diagnosis Reference Manual Ralph, Sheila Sparks; Taylor, Cynthia M.. Lippincott Williams & Wilkins. 2005. 6th.

Library Location: Bio-Medical Library Reference WY49 R163n 2005
Provides more than 350 complete NANDA (North American Nursing Diagnosis Association) approved nursing diagnoses. Explores documentation guidelines, evaluations for expected outcomes, and interventions with rationales. Updated to include the latest NA.....
[more information]

Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Professional guide to signs & symptoms
Library Location: TC Bio-Medical Library Reference WY49 P964 2004
Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

USP DI Advice for the Patient United States Pharmacopeial Convention.

Library Location: BIO-MED Core Coll & Reserve QV740 AA1 U86a
These annual volumes provide monographs on drugs and drug therapy, including adverse effects, dosing information, and drug interactions. Advice for the Patient is written in lay terminology and intended for the health care consumer......
[more information]

Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Textbooks



STAT!Ref Authentication Required 
Provides keyword searchable access to the full text of more than thirty medical and drug textbooks.

The Libraries' subscription to this resource allows for 5 users at any one time. If you get a busy signal, please wait a few minutes and try ac.....
[more information]


Top

Multimedia Materials

Image Resources


An@tomy.tv Authentication Required 
The world's most detailed 3D model of human anatomy available online created by Primal Pictures. Includes features such as interactive zoom, rotation, angle, interactive layers, extensive text, MRI, clinical slides and xrays, live action movies, anim.....
[more information]


Top

Style Manuals and Writing Guides

Bibliography Software


RefWorks: Personal Citation Manager Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service. 
RefWorks is a web-based citation manager that allows you to create your own databases of citations by importing references from MNCAT and other databases, and then in seconds automatically generate bibliographies in all major styles (MLA, APA, Turabi.....
[more information]

Style Manuals


National Library of Medicine Recommended Formats for Bibliographic Citation Karen Patrias. Bethesda, MD : U.S. Dept. of Health and Human Services, Public Health Service, National Institutes of Health, National Library of Medicine, Reference Section. 1991.

Library Location: BIO-MED Reference WZ345 P314n 1991
Includes recommended citation format styles for journals, books, conference publications, patents, audio visuals, electronic information, maps, legal materials, newspaper articles, bibliographies, dissertations, and scientific reports. "Internet for.....
[more information]

Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Electronic Styles : A Handbook for Citing Electronic Information
Library Location: PN171 .F56 L5 1996 WALTER SCI/ENG Reference; WALTER SCI/ENG Ref (Desk); MAGRATH Reference; WILSON Business Reference; WILSON Reference; MATHEMATICS Reference; BIO-MED Reference WZ345 L693e 1996
Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Health Professionals Stylebook : Putting Your Language to Work Shirley H. Fondiller, Barbara J. Nerone. National League for Nursing Press. 1993.

Library Location: BIO-MED Reference WZ345 F673h 1993
Handbook to help the reader write an essay or paper with proper usage and style for the health sciences. Pub. (National League for Nursing) ; no. 14-2551.....
[more information]

Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association APA. Washington, DC : American Psychological Association. 2001. 5th.

Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Writing Guides


How to Write and Publish a Scientific Paper 6th.

Library Location: TC Magrath Library T11 .D33 2006

Concisely covers all aspects of science writing, from choosing a title to acknowledgments and references: submission strategies; other forms of science writing (book reviews, theses, presentations, posters); English language usage......
[more information]

Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Top