Accessibility Shortcuts

Skip to Content Skip to Main Navigation
UofM wordmark
185x140Header
HAVE A QUESTION? ASK US!
Email | IM | Chat | Contacts
(612) 626-4045
get firefox, the browser you can trust

Nutrition (General Aspects) - Selected Resources

Print Page Print Page

Subject Description: This subject covers: information about food ingredients and their effects on the human body.

Abstracts and Indexes

Academic or Scholarly Articles Subject Indexes


AGRICOLA Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service. RefWorks enabled 
    1970 - present, updated monthly.
Search here to find citations and abstracts for articles from over 600 periodicals, as well as USDA and state experiment station and extension publications, and selected books on agriculture, animal husbandry, animal and human nutrition, forestry, pl.....
[more information]

AGRIS Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service. RefWorks enabled 
    1975 - present, updated quarterly.
Strong in agricultural and development economics of developing countries; AGRIS, the International System for the Agricultural Sciences and Technology, is an international bibliographic database. It is produced by the AGRIS Coordinating Centre, Fo.....
[more information]

BIOSIS Previews Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service. RefWorks enabled 
    1996 - present, updated monthly.
Covers the biological and medical sciences, including biochemistry, biophysics, biotechnology, botany, environment, microbiology, and zoology. Provides citations and abstracts to articles, conference papers, technical reports and chapters of books f.....
[more information]

CAB Abstracts Plus Full Text Select Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service. RefWorks enabled 
    1910 - present
CAB Abstracts covers agriculture in its broadest sense, including crop production, forestry, environment, animal health and nutrition, veterinary science, agricultural engineering, biotechnology, soil and water, agricultural economics, recreation and.....
[more information]

Food Science & Technology Abstracts (FSTA) On CD-ROM Format Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service. 
    1969 - presentNew York : Ovid Technologies.

Search here to find citations and abstracts for journal articles, conference papers, technical reports and international patents in food processing, storage, and safety, food additives, food chemistry and properties. Basic truncation symbol is the as.....
[more information]

IBIDS - International Bibliographic Information on Dietary Supplements
    1986 - present
IBIDS contains bibliographic records, including abstracts published in international scientific journals on the topic of dietary supplements, including vitamins, minerals, herbal and botanical supplements from the Office of Dietary Supplements at the.....
[more information]

General Indexes to Magazine, Journal & Newspaper Articles


Academic Search Premier Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service. RefWorks enabled 
    Coverage varies, some starting with 1975 - present, updated continuously.
Sources Indexed: http://www.epnet.com/titleLists/ap-fulltext.htm
This resource is licensed by the MINITEX Library Information Network with state appropriations from the Minnesota Higher Education Services Office (MHESO) and the Minnesota Department of Education.
The world's.....
[more information]

Top

Catalogs and Bibliographies

Catalogs


MNCAT
Search MNCAT, the libraries' catalog, to find books, journals, etc. owned by the library. Search by keyword, subject, title, or author for materials on your topic......
[more information]

WorldCat Authentication Required RefWorks enabled 
    2150 BC - present (most records from 1968 - present), updated daily.
This resource is licensed by the MINITEX Library Information Network with state appropriations from the Minnesota Higher Education Services Office (MHESO) and the Minnesota Department of Education
Covers all sub.....
[more information]

Top

General Reference Sources

Biographical Sources


American Men & Women of Science
Provides brief factual information on approximately 130,000 living scientists in biology, physical sciences, public health, mathematics, statistics, and computer science. Includes birthdate, education, professional career, and honors received......
[more information]

Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Dictionary of Scientific Biography
Provides authoritative, in-depth biographical articles on deceased scientists from classical antiquity to modern times. Each article includes bibliographies of works by and about the scientist who is the subject of the article. For biographical infor.....
[more information]

Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Dictionaries


Dictionary of Nutrition and Dietetics
Library Location: MAGRATH Reference TX349 .D78 1996
Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Dictionary of Nutrition and Food Technology, 6th ed.
Library Location: MAGRATH Reference TX349 .B4 1990; BIO-MED Reference QU13 B458d 1990
Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

International Dictionary of Food & Nutrition
Library Location: MAGRATH Reference TX349 .A236 1993

Directories


Directory of Food and Nutrition Information for Professionals & Consumers
Library Location: MAGRATH Reference Quarto TX353 .D56 1992
Lists professional organizations and government agencies, food and nutrition programs at colleges and universities, software and databases, journals, magazines and books. 2nd ed......
[more information]

Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Encyclopedias


Encyclopaedia of Food Science, Food Technology, and Nutrition
Library Location: MAGRATH Reference Quarto TP368.2 .E62 1992 (7 volumes)
Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Foods and Nutrition Encyclopedia Ensminger, Audrey, ... [et al.]..

Library Location: BIO-MED Reference QU13 F686 1993; MAGRATH Reference Quarto TX349 .F66x 1994;
Covers aspects of food, nutrition, and health with historical and interpretive context. Also includes recommended daily allowances and deficiency symptoms of some nutrients.....
[more information]

Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology Authentication Required McGraw-Hill. 2002. 9th.

Library Location: WALTER Sci/Eng Reference Q121 .M3 2002
Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Nutrition Bible
Library Location: MAGRATH Reference Quarto RA784 .A533 1995
Essentially an encyclopedia of foods, additives, nutrients and nutritional disorders......
[more information]

Handbooks and Manuals


Bowes & Church's Food Values of Portions Commonly Used Pennington, Jean T.. Philadelphia : Lippincott. 2003. 18th.

Library Location: BIO-MED Reference QU145.5 B414b 2005
Nutrient content of foods.....
[more information]

Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Composition of Foods
Library Location: MAGRATH Gov Pub (US Docs) CD-ROM A 77.40:N 95
This is better known as USDA Handbook No. 8. Standard tables of data on nutritional content of thousands of foods......
[more information]

Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Food Chronology
Library Location: MAGRATH Reference TX355 .T72 1995
Year-by-year list of food and nutrition facts from ancient times to the present. Includes detailed index. Origins of many commercial food products......
[more information]

Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Recommended Dietary Allowances
Library Location: QU145.5 N2762r 1989
BIO-MED Reference; BIO-MED; MAGRATH Reference TX551 .N393 1989
Official National Research Council recommendations for daily intake of most specific nutrients......
[more information]

Top

Style Manuals and Writing Guides

Bibliography Software


RefWorks: Personal Citation Manager Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service. 
RefWorks is a web-based citation manager that allows you to create your own databases of citations by importing references from MNCAT and other databases, and then in seconds automatically generate bibliographies in all major styles (MLA, APA, Turabi.....
[more information]

Top
Related Research Guides
  • Internet Resources for Nutrition