Accessibility Shortcuts

Skip to Content Skip to Main Navigation
UofM wordmark
185x140Header
HAVE A QUESTION? ASK US!
Email | IM | Chat | Contacts
(612) 626-4045
get firefox, the browser you can trust

Osteoporosis

Print Page Print Page

 
 
Overviews
  • MEDLINEPlus: Osteoporosis
    National Library of Medicine

    MedlinePlus brings together authoritative information from NLM, the National Institutes of Health (NIH), and other government agencies and health-related organizations. MedlinePlus also has extensive information about drugs, an illustrated medical encyclopedia, interactive patient tutorials, and latest health news.


Professional Organizations
  • American Society for Bone and Mineral Research
    "The American Society for Bone and Mineral Research (ASBMR) is a professional, scientific and medical society established to bring together clinical and experimental scientists involved in the study of bone and mineral metabolism. ASBMR encourages and promotes the study of this expanding field through annual scientific meetings, an official journal (Journal of Bone and Mineral Research), the Primer on the Metabolic Bone Diseases and Disorders of Mineral Metabolism, advocacy and interaction with government agencies and related societies."
  • International Osteoporosis Foundation (IOF)
    ""IOF brings together the world’s leading scientific experts on osteoporosis with the committed people who run national osteoporosis societies and concerned corporations which are dedicated to bone health."
  • National Osteoprosis Foundation
    " Established in 1984, the National Osteoporosis Foundation (NOF) is the nation’s leading voluntary health organization solely dedicated to osteoporosis and bone health. NOF is committed to achieving our mission through programs of awareness, education and training, advocacy and research."

Governmental (Federal and State)
  • NIH Osteoporosis and Related Bone Diseases National Resource Center
    NIAMS/National Institute of Arthritis and Nusculoskeletal and Skin Diseases

    "The National Resource Center, a part of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services’ National Institutes of Health (NIH), provides patients, health professionals, and the public with an important link to resources and information on metabolic bone diseases, including osteoporosis, Paget’s disease of the bone, osteogenesis imperfecta, and hyperparathyroidism. The National Resource Center is dedicated to increasing the awareness, knowledge and understanding of physicians, health professionals, patients, underserved and at-risk populations (such as Hispanic and Asian women, adolescents, and men) and the general public about the prevention, early detection and treatment of osteoporosis and related bone diseases."

  • NIH SeniorHealth: Osteoporosis
    National Institute of Arthritis and Musculoskeletal and Skin Diseases

    # What is Osteoporosis? # Risk Factors and Prevention # Warning Signs and Diagnosis # Treatment and Research # Frequently Asked Questions

  • Osteoporosis
    Web-page from the FDA. Contains: Information about Osteoporosis and Other Bone Diseases, A comprehensive resource center from the Center for Food Safety and Applied Nutrition, Osteoporosis (Fact Sheet), Boning Up on Osteoporosis (FDA Consumer magazine, Updated April 2004) Americans Over 50 at Risk for Bone Fractures (FDA Consumer magazine, January-February 2005), Drugs@FDA: This site allows users to research various osteoporosis medications.
  • Osteoporosis
    Womenshealth.gov

    FAQs and links to more information


Educational Materials
  • ASBMR Bone Curriculum
    Educational resource materials by the American Society for Bone and Mineral Research
  • Bone Biology for Kids
    An educational site for middle school students. It is intended to contain information about bones, the skeleton, bone health and other aspects of bone biology. The material will be a resource that can be used by health, biology and science teachers.

    Susan Ott, MD, Associate Professor of Medicine at the University of Washington.

  • Bone Builders: building strong bones for a lifetime
    "one Builders is working to educate women and older men to change their dietary and exercise habits to reduce the risks of osteoporosis. It is a partnership with University of Arizona Cooperative Extension, the Arizona Department of Health Services, Arizona Osteoporosis Coalition and more than 100 partners including county health departments, health providers and interested citizens."

    Contains modules and links on Osteoporosis / Exercise / Nutrition / Screening / Medications

  • OsteoEd: Osteoporosis Education
    Educational website from the University of Washington School of Medicine. Provides evidence-based information for students, residents, and primary care providers on the prevention, diagnosis and treatment of osteoporosis.
  • Osteoporosis
    Lab Tests Online

    Covers all the types of tests for osteoporosis and other bone diseases

  • Osteoporosis and Bone Physiology
    Maintained by Susan Ott, MD, Associate Professor, Depart of Medicine, University of Washington

    Educational site aimed at physicians and patients

  • Osteoporosis Education Project
    Osteoporosis Education Project is a non-profit, tax-exempt organization dedicated to exploration of the full of the human potential for optimum bone health. Our mission is to further research on, and awareness about, the nutritional and lifestyle factors influencing bone health development, maintenance and regeneration. The Osteoporosis Education Project (OEP) was founded by, and is directed by, Susan E. Brown, Ph.D., CCN, medical anthropologist and NYS certified nutritionist.

Medical

Fact Sheets & E-Books
  • Osteoporosis
    Patient education section of the American College of Rheumatology
  • Osteoporosis
    Patient education section of the American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons
  • Osteoporosis
    Mario Skugor, MD and Angelo Licata, MD, PhD.

    Part of the Cleveland Clinic Disease Management Project. Includes definition, prevalence, pathophysiology, signs and symptoms, diagnosis, therapy and outcomes.

  • Osteoporosis
    Wheeless’ Textbook of Orthopaedics

    Provided by Duke University Medical Center’s Division of Orthopaedic Surgery, in conjunction with Data Trace Internet Publishing, LLC


Journal Articles
  • Osteoporosis
    Coburn Hobar, MD.

    eMedicine.com (Last updated December 16, 2005)

  • Osteoporosis
    eMedicineHealth topic collection

    Overview -- causes -- symptoms -- tests -- treatment -- medications -- next-steps -- follow-up -- prevention -- outlook -- multimedia (graphics


Media (PowerPoints/Videos/Podcasts/Audio)
  • Nutrition and Osteoporosis
    University of Nebraska Extension Service in Lancaster County.

    Downloadable PowerPoint presentation by Alice Henneman, MS, RD, Extension Educator and Linda Boeckner, PhD, RD, State Extension Nutrition Specialist



Page Coordinator: Katherine Chew chewx002@umn.edu
Top

New: Code Snippets (Beta)

Want this Guide Page on Your Blog, WebCT Class or Other Web Page?

Just copy and Paste the Code Snippet Below into your web page. Learn More

eXTReMe Tracker