These resources have been selected to help you find and create patient education materials related to physical therapy.
Books, Journals and Selected Articles
Health Literacy
- Patient Education and Health Literacy
An informative article about health literacy and patient education for physical therapist. The article includes tips on effective PT-related patient education, links to APTA resources, and links to related resources from other organizations.
Internet Resources
- Beyond the Brochure: Alternative Approaches to Effective Health Communication: A Guidebook
The AMC Cancer Research Center, with collaboration and support of the
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), Division of Cancer
Prevention and Control, has developed Beyond the Brochure to assist
health educators and health communicators in conceiving and producing
educational materials and activities that do not rely solely on the
printed word. [80 p.]
- Developing Patient/Family Education Print Material
(Captial Health, Nova Scotia, Canada) Developing Patient/Family Education Print Material was created to provide guidelines and a process to follow in the development of patient/family education print materials. [29 p.]
- Guidelines for Developing Easy-to-Read Health Education Materials
(Washington State Department of Health) Included are references to resources and research in the fields of health promotion and patient education. These resources will provide more detailed, practical information–for example, how to conduct a focus group or specific design considerations for people with low reading skills.
- Patient Education
From U-Write.com. Handy tips section that covers illustrations, readability, design layout, effectiveness and costs of in-house production.
Consumer Resources (including multicultural)
- Health Information Translations
Established to share translated patient education materials, predominantly for Limited English Proficiency (LEP) populations. Goal is to provide culturally appropriate materials to promote health education and wellness among immigrant populations who may not speak English as a primary language. Includes Chinese, French, Japanese, Korean, Russian, Somali, Spanish, Ukrainian, and Hindi.
- Healthy Roads Media
This site contains free health education materials in a number of languages and a variety of formats, including written, audio, multi-media, and web page video.
- MedlinePlus
MedlinePlus has extensive information from the National Institutes of Health and other trusted sources on over 590 diseases and conditions. There are also lists of hospitals and physicians, a medical encyclopedia and dictionaries, health information in Spanish, extensive information on prescription and nonprescription drugs, health information from the media, and links to thousands of clinical trials.
- MedlinePlus - Spanish version
MEDLINEplus has extensive information from the U.S. National Institutes of Health and other trusted sources on over 590 diseases and conditions. There are also lists of hospitals and physicians, a medical encyclopedia and dictionaries, extensive information on prescription and nonprescription drugs, health information from the media, and links to thousands of clinical trials.
- The 24 Languages Project
Electronic access to over 200 health education brochures in 24 different languages. This is a project of the Spencer S. Eccles Health Sciences Library, in partnership with the Utah Department of Health, the Immunization Action Coalition, AAPCHO, and many others to improve access to health materials in multiple languages.
Images
- An@tomy.tv

The worlds most detailed 3D model of human anatomy available online created by Primal Pictures. Includes features such as interactive zoom, rotation, angle, interactive layers, extensive text, MRI, clinical slides and xrays, live action movies, animations, radiology slides, dissection videos and slides, surface anatomy videos and slides. Focuses on muscles, ligaments, nerves, veins, arteries, bones.
- images.MD

Extensive online database of medical images, including photographs, illustrations, charts, etc. from all areas of internal medicine. U of M students, staff and faculty have unlimited personal use of the images. Permitted personal uses includes lectures, presentation or research, printed handouts for research or presentation purposes, and use in password-protected sites for teaching purposes. You may be able to get permission to publish images or use them for commercial purposes.
- CDC: Diabetes Clip Art
The following clip art was developed for "Take Charge of Your Diabetes," a CDC publication that is a guidebook for people with diabetes.
To access the clip art, click on the file name (*.gif). When viewing clipart, use "back" button to return to this page.
- USP Pictograms
USP Pictograms are standardized graphic images that help convey medication instructions, precautions, and/or warnings to patients and consumers. Pictograms are particularly helpful in passing on important information to patients with a lower level reading ability and patients for whom English is a second language. USP offers 81 pictograms in .gif or .eps format. You can download the entire pictogram library after accepting our license agreement.
Page Coordinator: Liz Fine evfine@umn.edu
Top