Accessibility Shortcuts

Skip to Content Skip to Main Navigation
UofM wordmark
185x140Header
HAVE A QUESTION? ASK US!
Email | IM | Chat | Contacts
(612) 626-4045
get firefox, the browser you can trust

Patient Education Materials - Creating

Print Page Print Page

 
 
Books & Journals
  • Advancing health literacy : a framework for understanding and action
    Christina Zarcadoolas, Andrew F. Pleasant, David S. Greer. -- Location: TC Bio-Medical Library WA590 Z36a 2006
  • Focus groups : a practical guide for applied research
    Krueger, Richard A. -- Location: TC Magrath Library H61.28 .K78 2000
  • Guidelines : writing for adults with limited reading skills
    [developed by Nancy Gaston and Patricia Daniels ; edited by Lillie Sheehan]. -- Location: TC Magrath Library Gov Pub A 98.2:G 941x (1988)
  • Health literacy from A to Z : practical ways to communicate your health message
    Helen Osborne. -- Location: TC Bio-Medical Library WA590 O81h 2005
  • Making health communication programs work : a planner's guide.
    Arkin, Elaine Bratic -- Location: TC Wilson Library Gov Pub (US Docs) HE 20.3158:H 34/2
  • Teaching patients with low literacy skills
    Doak, Cecilia Conrath -- Location: TC Bio-Medical Library W85 D631t 1985
  • Understanding health literacy : implications for medicine and public health
    editors, Joanne C. Schwartzberg, Jonathan B. VanGeest, Claire C. Wang ; section editors, Julie A. Gazmararian ... [et al.]. -- Location: TC Bio-Medical Library WA590 U55 2005

Internet Resources
  • Beyond the Brochure: Alternative Approaches to Effective Health Communication: A Guidebook
    The AMC Cancer Research Center, with collaboration and support of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), Division of Cancer Prevention and Control, has developed Beyond the Brochure to assist health educators and health communicators in conceiving and producing educational materials and activities that do not rely solely on the printed word. [80 p.]
  • Developing Patient/Family Education Print Material
    (Captial Health, Nova Scotia, Canada) Developing Patient/Family Education Print Material was created to provide guidelines and a process to follow in the development of patient/family education print materials. [29 p.]
  • Guidelines for Developing Easy-to-Read Health Education Materials
    (Washington State Department of Health) Included are references to resources and research in the fields of health promotion and patient education. These resources will provide more detailed, practical information–for example, how to conduct a focus group or specific design considerations for people with low reading skills.
  • Health Literacy Fact Sheets
    (Center for Health Care Strategies) Series of fact sheets on various aspects of health literacy.

    • Health Communication and Cultural Diversity
    • Health Literacy and Understanding Medical Information
    • Preparing Patient Education Materials
    • Resources for Health Literacy Information and Publications
    • Strategies to Assist Low-Literate Health Care Consumers
    • Tools to Evaluate Patient Education Materials
  • Microsoft Word's Readability Statistics
    Handout that outlines how to use the built-in readability function in Microsoft Word. Word uses the Flesch-Kincaid model/forumla to determine readability levels.
  • Patient Education
    From U-Write.com. Handy tips section that covers illustrations, readability, design layout, effectiveness and costs of in-house production.
  • Plain Language Online Training
    Welcome to PlainTrain, the Plain Language Online Training Program. Here you will find helpful tips and techniques for improving your communication skills with the use of plain language. This program consists of 8 topic sections.
  • Rapid Estimate of Adult Literacy in Medicine (REALM)
    A screening instrument to assess an adult patient’s ability to read common words and lay terms for body parts and illness
  • Readability Test
    "This free online software tool calculate various readability measurements like Coleman Liau index, Flesh Kincaid Grade Level, ARI (Automated Readability Index), SMOG. Document readability is the indication of number of years of education that a person needs to be able to understand the text easily on the first reading. Comprehension tests and skills training. Tool is made primary for English texts but might work also for some other languages. It displays also complicated sentences (with many words and syllables) as suggestion what you might do to improve its readability." From Online-Utility.org
  • You Can Prepare Easy-to-Read Materials
    Technical Bulletin MS 499. Developed bu the Center for Substance Abuse Prevention Communications Team, National Clearinghouse for Alcohol & Drug Information

Videos
  • Health Literacy Video
    (American College of Physicians Foundation). 6 1/2 minute video gives an illustration of the problem of low health literacy, combining interviews with actual patients, commentary from practicing physicians, and health communication statistics. Can be viewed from the website.
  • Health Literacy Videos
    (AMA Foundation). Pair of 20-minutes videos on health literacy. These videos can be viewed free of charge.

    • Low Health Literacy: You Can’t Tell by Looking (2001, 18 minutes). Features actual physicians and healthcare staff interacting with real patients.
    • Health Literacy: Help Your Patients Understand (2003, 23 minutes). Provides more detailed techniques and specific steps for health care professionals helping patients with limited health literacy.

Cultural & Cross-Cultural Resources
  • Ethnomed
    EthnoMed contains information about cultural beliefs, medical issues and other related issues pertinent to the health care of recent immigrants to the US. Has links to patient education materials in a wide variety of languages
  • The 24 Languages Project
    Electronic access to over 200 health education brochures in 24 different languages. This is a project of the Spencer S. Eccles Health Sciences Library, in partnership with the Utah Department of Health, the Immunization Action Coalition, AAPCHO, and many others to improve access to health materials in multiple languages.

Journal Articles
  • Criteria and ingredients for successful patient information
    Wright P. J Audiov Media Med. 2003 Mar;26(1):6-10.
  • How effective are your patient education materials? Guidelines for developing and evaluating written educational materials.
    Farrell-Miller P, Gentry P. Diabetes Educ 1989 Sep-Oct; 15(5):418-22.
  • Low literacy levels in adults: implications for patient education.
    Fisher E. J Contin Educ Nurs 1999 Mar-Apr; 30(2):56-61.
  • Patient education materials: can patients read them, or are they ending up in the trash?
    Winslow EH. AJN 2001 Oct; 101(10):33-9.
  • Preparing readable patient education handouts.
    Maynard AM. J Nurses Staff Dev 1999 Jan-Feb; 15(1):11-8.
  • Print material content and design: is it relevant to effectiveness?
    Paul CL, Redman S, Sanson-Fisher RW. Health Educ Res 2003 Apr; 18(2):181-90
  • Readability of patient education materials: a comparison of rural and urban cardiac rehabilitation sites in Minnesota.
    Johnson JL, Stern EB J Cardiopulm Rehabil. 2004 Mar-Apr;24(2):121-7.
  • Strategies for effective patient education material design.
    Hussey LC. J Cardiovasc Nurs 1997 Jan; 11(2):37-46.
  • The write stuff. Simple guidelines can help you write and design effective patient education materials.
    Kripalani S. Tex Med 1995 Aug; 91(8):40-5.

Illustrations and Other Media

Clipart and other ways of illustrating patient education materials. Keep in mind that some of these images may be copyrighted and will need permission for use.
  • "Free" Clipart

    These are image collections that are free for educational use. Please carefully read the copyright notices and disclaimers before use - some sites have detailed instructions and conditions on use of the images.
    • Arthur's Medical Clipart
      "This clipart has been scanned from old books, papers etc. It is suitable for Doctors, Nurses, University Students in fact anyone in the medical fields. It is especially useful for scholars doing subjects such as Biology. The clipart is of a large format suitable for presentations and projects." Contains black & white/color anatomy drawings.
    • CDC: Diabetes Clip Art
      The following clip art was developed for "Take Charge of Your Diabetes," a CDC publication that is a guidebook for people with diabetes. To access the clip art, click on the file name (*.gif). When viewing clipart, use "back" button to return to this page.
    • HEAL: Health Education Assets Library
      The Health Education Assets Library (HEAL) is a digital library that provides freely accessible digital teaching materials. Requires free registration.
    • Public Health Image Library
      Public Health Image Library (PHIL) is an extensive collection of still images, image sets, and multimedia files related to public health.
    • Using Symbols [Universal Healthcare symbols]
      (Hablamos Juntes: Language policy & practice in healthcare). Downloadable symbols in either EPS or PDF format (zip files). Also links to Universal Symbols in Health Care Workbook.
    • USP Pictograms
      USP Pictograms are standardized graphic images that help convey medication instructions, precautions, and/or warnings to patients and consumers. Pictograms are particularly helpful in passing on important information to patients with a lower level reading ability and patients for whom English is a second language. USP offers 81 pictograms in .gif or .eps format. You can download the entire pictogram library after accepting our license agreement.
  • Fee-Based Clipart

    Commercial images available on a fee-based service. This is not an endorsement of these companies, just a representation of some of the larger one available via the web. Please check copyright notices and disclaimers before use
    • ClipArt.com
      Largest subscription based royality-free graphics website. Thousands of illustrations.
    • LifeART
      LifeART is one of the largest medical images producers. There are two basic collections: LifeART created by medical illustrators specializing in computer artwork and MediClip, which are compiled from print publications, featuring detailed images from renowned medical illustrators. All images are beautifully drawn and detailed for use in slides, presentations, patient education materials, newsletters and brochures.
    • Nucleus Medical Art
      Nucleus Medical Art, Inc. is a full-service creative studio specializing in developing and licensing medical illustrations, medical animations, interactive media and other communications tools for the healthcare market. The company maintains a proprietary database of more than 15,000 highly detailed, expert reviewed medical illustrations and animations.

Copyright and Other Publishing Resources
  • Copyright & Fair Use
    Prepared by Stanford University Libraries this is a very useful site especially for those who are linear.
  • Copyright Crash Course
    This excellent site compiled by the University of Texas System can teach us all a lot about the copyright despite the complexity of this subject.
  • Copyright Information and Education (U of M Libraries)
    The site of the University of Minnesota Libraries’ Copyright Information and Education Initiative, which supports an informed and educated University community on matters of copyright and its application in teaching, research, and scholarship. Includes tools such as the Fair Use Analysis Tool and the Copyright Decision Map.
  • Copyright Permissions Office, U of M
    This office, secures permission for copyrighted materials use for instructional or other academic purposes by U of M faculty and staff. Photocopying guidelines are also provided.
  • Copyright Website
    This site endeavors to provide real world, practical and relevant copyright information of interest to infonauts, netsurfers, webspinners, content providers, musicians, appropriationists, activists, infringers, outlaws, and law abiding citizens. (Website text.)
  • U.S. Copyright Office: The Library of Congress
    An essential site for copyright information for both those who what to obtain copyright and those who want to use copyrighted materials. The Copyright Basics section and the FAQ are especially helpful.


Page Coordinator: Katherine Chew chewx002@umn.edu
Top

New: Code Snippets (Beta)

Want this Guide Page on Your Blog, WebCT Class or Other Web Page?

Just copy and Paste the Code Snippet Below into your web page. Learn More