Accessibility Shortcuts

Skip to Content Skip to Main Navigation
UofM wordmark
185x140Header
HAVE A QUESTION? ASK US!
Email | IM | Chat | Contacts
(612) 626-4045
get firefox, the browser you can trust

PDA and Handheld Resources

Print Page Print Page

 
 
General Information

The following Web sites contain a variety of information about PDAs and Handhelds including current articles, product reviews, and Internet links to a wide variety of resources.

Hardware & Operating Systems

Software: Health Sciences Libraries Subscriptions

The following links will lead you to PDA downlaods which are freely available to University of Minnesota, TC students, faculty, and staff.
  • ACP Pier (Coming Soon)
    "The Physician’s Information and Education Resource". "ACP’s decision support tool...options for both PalmOS and Windows Mobile/Pocket PC devices, via our partners’ industry-leading PDA platforms that integrate ACP PIER with complete drug resources and, optionally, other medical references".
  • Essential Evidence Plus (InfoPOEMS) Authentication Required
    Essential Evidence Plus formerly InfoPOEMs, consists of two products -- InfoRetriever and the Daily InfoPOEMs. InfoRetriever provides filtered, graded, summarized evidence and clinical tools for use in the office or at the bedside. Daily InfoPOEMs provides a complete clinical awareness system for knowledge management.
  • MDConsult: First Consult
    "POCKET Consult extends our reach to the handheld community by providing new content on your handheld each day and pathways back into MD Consult for additional content. It provides access to Mosby Drug Consult and Interactions with over 900 drug monographs including brand name indexing. With POCKET Consult you have integrated access to any Elsevier e-dition electronic books on your PDA. You also have the ability to initiate searches and execute them after synchronizing with MD Consult."

    Upon entering the site, go to the "My PDA" link in the upper right hand corner and follow the directions for access for downloads.
  • mobile MICROMEDEX
    "mobileMICROMEDEX provides evidence-based clinical information for physicians, pharmacists, and nurses at the point of care. Compatible with both Palm OS® and Pocket PC’s, mobileMICROMEDEX is easy to use and provides answers to questions about drugs, alternative medicines, emergency conditions, and poisonings/toxic substances."

    After entering the MICROMEDEX page, proceed to the "MICROMEDEX Healthcare Series" button and they clickon the "Handheld PDA tab"

Software: Free PDA and/or Handheld Resources
  • AHRQ: Electronic Preventive Services Selector (ePSS)
    "The Electronic Preventive Services Selector (ePSS) is a quick hands-on tool designed to help primary care clinicians identify the screening, counseling, and preventive medication services that are appropriate for their patients".
  • Clinical Guidelines at guidelines.gov
    "All National Guideline Clearinghouse™ (NGC) Guideline Summaries are available in a text format downloadable to the Palm-based Personal Digital Assistant (PDA)."
  • C-Tools
    "...the American Cancer Society has created C-Tools 2.0, a timesaving PDA tool that will provide you with instant access to the most recent cancer information, and it’s available free of charge to anyone in the health care field."
  • Diagnosaurus
    FREE from McGraw-Hill, Diagnosaurus is a "differential diagnosis PDA tool which helps you make informed decisions and is derived from the most trusted CURRENT Medical Diagnosis and Treatment."
  • EBM Tables - NNT Tables
    "EBM Tables - NNT Tables version 2.0 is an enhanced version of our previous NNT Tables. It now uses a common interface for NNT Tables, LR Tables. Each set of tables contains it’s own pdb file that you can load to your palm."
  • EBM Calculator
    "EBM Calculator is designed to calculate relevant statistics for Diagnostic studies, Prospective Studies, Case Control Studies, and Randomized Control Trials (RCT). This is a palm version of the Stats Calculator."
  • Johns Hopkins Antibiotic Guide
    "The Antibiotic Guide is a "decision support tool" intended to provide clinicians with concise, digested, timely information about the diagnosis and treatment of infectious diseases. The information is arranged so that it is clinically useful at the point of care, instantly. We hope that you find it helpful in your practice."
  • Med Rules
    "MedRules is an award-winning application featuring useful clinical prediction rules taken from the medical literature. A few of the available rules may be seen in the animated screenshots shown to the left. Additional rules will be added over time. Complete references for each rule may be found by clicking the question mark icon in the upper-right corner of the screen. This application is for educational use only."
  • Shots 2006
    "Shots 2006 is a quick reference guide to the 2006 Childhood Immunization Schedule, a collaboration of the Advisory Committee on Immunization Practices (ACIP), the American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP) and the American Academy of Family Physicians (AAFP), and the 2004-2005 Adult Immunization Schedule, recommended by the Advisory Committee on Immunization Practices (ACIP). Details on each vaccine are available by clicking on the vaccine names. "
  • WISER - Wireless Information System for Emergency Responders
    "WISER is a system designed to assist first responders in hazardous material incidents. WISER provides a wide range of information on hazardous substances, including substance identification support, physical characteristics, human health information, and containment and suppression advice."

Software: Shareware/Commercial
  • CollectiveMed.com: PDA Center
    "CollectiveMed is currently one of the largest medically orientated software retailers on the Internet. " Includes software for PDAs and Handhelds.
  • handheldmed
    "Handheldmed is a privately-held, physician-founded company headquartered in Redmond, Washington. Since 1998, we have been providing comprehensive physician-centric solutions that enable clinicians to manage patient information and access medical content at the point of care."
  • pdaMD.com
    Contains medicine based PDA articles, tutorials, products, and a "Learning Center".


Page Coordinator: Jim Beattie jbeattie@umn.edu
Top

New: Code Snippets (Beta)

Want this Guide Page on Your Blog, WebCT Class or Other Web Page?

Just copy and Paste the Code Snippet Below into your web page. Learn More