Accessibility Shortcuts

Skip to Content Skip to Main Navigation
UofM wordmark
185x140Header
HAVE A QUESTION? ASK US!
Email | IM | Chat | Contacts
(612) 626-4045
get firefox, the browser you can trust

Pharmacy - Selected Resources

Print Page Print Page

Subject Description: This subject covers: the practice of preparing and dispensing medicinal drugs.

Abstracts and Indexes

* Premier Resources *




Web of Science (ISI) Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service. 
    Science Citation Index Expanded (SCI-EXPANDED)--1975-present; Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI)--1975-present; Arts and Humanities Citation Index (A&HCI)--1975-present.Thomson ISI.

Resource Guide: http://www.isinet.com/tutorials/wos7/

Academic or Scholarly Articles Subject Indexes


Business Source Premier Enhanced Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service. 
This resource is licensed by the MINITEX Library Information Network with state appropriations from the Minnesota Higher Education Services Office (MHESO) and the Minnesota Department of Education.
This enhanc.....
[more information]

IBIDS - International Bibliographic Information on Dietary Supplements
    1986 - present
IBIDS contains bibliographic records, including abstracts published in international scientific journals on the topic of dietary supplements, including vitamins, minerals, herbal and botanical supplements from the Office of Dietary Supplements at the.....
[more information]

International Pharmaceutical Abstracts (IPA via OvidSP) Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service. RefWorks enabled 
    1970 - present, updated monthly.American Society of Health-Systems Pharmacists..

Resource Guide: http://www.biomed.lib.umn.edu/help/guides/ipa

MEDLINE (OVID) Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service. RefWorks enabled 
    1966 - present, updated weekly.
Resource Guide: http://www.biomed.lib.umn.edu/files/SearchingOvid.pdf

General Indexes to Magazine, Journal & Newspaper Articles


Academic Search Premier Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service. RefWorks enabled 
    Coverage varies, some starting with 1975 - present, updated continuously.
Sources Indexed: http://www.epnet.com/titleLists/ap-fulltext.htm
This resource is licensed by the MINITEX Library Information Network with state appropriations from the Minnesota Higher Education Services Office (MHESO) and the Minnesota Department of Education.
The world's.....
[more information]

Factiva Authentication Required 
Full text source of global news and business information, major daily newspapers, newswires, academic and trade journals, magazines, transcripts of media programs, web sites, images. Covers multiple-language content of 9,000 sources from 152 countri.....
[more information]

Health and Medicine in the News
    May 1994 - present.
Lists citations to health-related articles reported in the Star Tribune - Newspaper of the Twin Cities [Minneapolis Edition]......
[more information]

LexisNexis Academic Authentication Required 
    Varies by title.
LexisNexis Academic is a collection of online databases: News, Business (plus corporate news and corporate financials), Legal, Medical, and Reference. International news sources are included. .....
[more information]

Indexes, Other


Natural Medicines Comprehensive Database Authentication Required Therapeutic Research (publisher of Pharmacist's Letter and Prescriber's Letter).

Resource Guide: http://www.biomed.lib.umn.edu/help/guides/natural

Patents (United States)
    1790 - present, updated weekly
The USPTO Web Patent Database offers the full text of all US patents issued since January 1, 1976 and full-page images of each page of every US patent issued since 1790 through the most recent weekly issue date. Publisher/Producer is the U.S. Pate.....
[more information]

STAT!Ref Authentication Required 
Provides keyword searchable access to the full text of more than thirty medical and drug textbooks.

The Libraries' subscription to this resource allows for 5 users at any one time. If you get a busy signal, please wait a few minutes and try ac.....
[more information]


Top

Catalogs and Bibliographies

Catalogs


MNCAT Plus
Search MNCAT, the libraries' catalog, to find books, journals, etc. owned by the library. Search by keyword, subject, title, or author for materials on your topic......
[more information]

Top

General Reference Sources

Biographical Sources


American Men & Women of Science
Provides brief factual information on approximately 130,000 living scientists in biology, physical sciences, public health, mathematics, statistics, and computer science. Includes birthdate, education, professional career, and honors received......
[more information]

Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Hutchinson Dictionary of Scientific Biography Authentication Required Helicon Publishing. 2004.

Focuses particularly on contemporary scientists and includes selected bibliographies, chronologies, tables of scientific discoveries, and quotations......
[more information]

Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Chemical Compounds


ChemIDplus
ChemIDplus indexes more than 368,000 records for chemical substances cited in the National Library of Medicine (NLM) databases. It is searchable by Name, Synonym, CAS Registry Number, Molecular Formula, Classification Code, Locator Code, and Structu.....
[more information]

Combined Chemical Dictionary Authentication Required 
Database of descriptive & numerical data on chemical, physical & biological properties of compounds; systematic & common names; literature references; & structures. Contains all compounds included in: Dictionary of Organic Compounds (255,000 records.....
[more information]

Dictionaries


Dictionary of Cell and Molecular Biology J. A. T. Dow. Academic Press. 1999. 3rd.

Library Location: BIO-MED Reference QH575 D554 1999; MAGRATH Reference QH575 .D52x 1999
Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Dictionary of Gene Technology Terms Yong-he Zhang. Parthenon. 2001.

Library Location: MAGRATH Reference QH442 .Z48 2001
Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Dictionary of Gene Technology: Genomics, Transcriptomics, Proteomics Günter Kahl. Wiley-VCH. 2004. 3rd.

Library Location: MAGRATH Reference QH506 .K333 2004
Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Dictionary of Microbiology and Molecular Biology Paul Singleton. Wiley. 2001. 3rd.

Library Location: MAGRATH Reference QR9 .S56 2001
Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Dorland's Illustrated Medical Dictionary 1994.

Library Location: BIO-MED Reference W13 D711d
Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Facts on File Dictionary of Biotechnology and Genetic Engineering Mark L. Steinberg, Sharon D. Cosloy. Facts on File. 2001.

Library Location: MAGRATH Reference TP248.16 .S84 2001
Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Glossary of Biotechnology Terms Authentication Required Kimball Nill. CRC Press. 2002. 3rd.

Library Location:

Hawley's Condensed Chemical Dictionary Authentication Required Van Nostrand Reinhold. c1993.

Library Location: WALTER Sci/Eng Ref (Desk) QD5 .C5 2001
Gives technical and descriptive data for common substances and phenomena. Identifies thousands of chemicals by name, physical properties, source of occurrence, shipping regulations, CAS number, hazards, derivations, synonyms and applications. Availab.....
[more information]

Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Illustrated Dictionary of Immunology Julius M. Cruse. CRC Press. 2003. 2nd.

Library Location: BIO-MED Reference QW513 C957i 2003
Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Life Science Dictionary (BioTech)
Defines over 6,500 terms associated with biochemistry, biotechnology, botany, cellular biology and genetics, as well as chemistry, ecology, medicine, pharmacology and toxicology terms. Both words and definitions can be searched......
[more information]

Oxford Dictionary of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology Online Authentication Required S.P. Datta. Oxford University Press. 2000.

Library Location: BIO-MED Reference QU13 O98 2000; MAGRATH Reference QD415.A25 O94x 2000; VET MED Reference QD415.A25 O94 2000
Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Stedman's Medical Dictionary Thomas L. Stedman. Lippincott Williams & Wilkins. 2006. 28th.

Library Location: BIO-MED Reference W13 S812m 2006
Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Directories


Nature Biotechnology Directory Nature Publishing Group. 2005.

Library Location:
Global information resource listing over 8,000 organizations, product and service providers in the biotechnology industry......
[more information]

Encyclopedias


Encyclopedia of Analytical Science Paul J. Worsford. Elsevier. 2005. 2nd.

Library Location: WALTER Sci/Eng Reference QD71.5 .E53 2005
A ten-volume set describing the theory and applications of various analytical techniques. The index has more individual compounds than that of the Encyclopedia of Analytical Chemistry......
[more information]

Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Encyclopedia of Dietary Supplements Authentication Required Paul M. Coates. Marcel Dekker. 2005.

Encyclopedia of Dietary Supplements.....
[more information]

Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Encyclopedia of Genetics Sydney Brenner. Academic Press. 2002.

Library Location: MAGRATH Reference (Encyclopedias) Quarto QH427 .E532 2002 vols 1-4
Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability


Encyclopedia of Immunology Peter J. Delves. Academic Press. 1998. 2nd.

Library Location: BIO-MED Reference QW513 E56 1998
A comprehensive reference source of current immunological knowledge. Includes information for experimental and clinical immunologists and scientists and physicians from related fields......
[more information]

Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Encyclopedia of Molecular Biology Authentication Required Thomas E. Creighton. Wiley. 1999.

Library Location: MAGRATH Reference (Encyclopedias) Quarto QH506 .C74 1999
Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Encyclopedia of Molecular Biology and Molecular Medicine Robert A. Meyers. Wiley. 2004-. 2nd.

Library Location: BIO-MED Reference QH506 E562 2004
Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Frontiers of Life David Baltimore. Academic Press. 2002.

Library Location: MAGRATH Reference (Encyclopedias) Quarto QH302.5 .F7613x 2002 v.1-4
Four-volume encyclopedia of the life sciences containing articles that are well illustrated with photographs, sketches, and graphs; each article ends with a comprehensive bibliography and there is an extensive subject index at the end of the fourth v.....
[more information]

Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology Authentication Required McGraw-Hill. 2002. 9th.

Library Location: WALTER Sci/Eng Reference Q121 .M3 2002
Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Handbooks and Manuals


Cooper's Toxic Exposures Desk Reference Andre R. Cooper. Lewis Publishers. 1997.

Library Location: BIO-MED Reference WA465 C776t 1997
Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics Authentication Required CRC Press.

Library Location: Available online and in print. QD65 .H236 WALTER Sci/Eng Ref (Desk); BIO-MED Reference; MAGRATH Ref (Desk); VETERINARY MEDICINE Reference; Ent/Fish/Wild Library Reference; PLANT PATHOLOGY Reference; Wilson Reference
Annually published reference source for chemical & physical property data, nomenclature, structure, & composition of substances. Includes physical constants of organic & inorganic compounds, conversion factors, & much more......
[more information]

Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Current Protocols Authentication Required Wiley.

Series of standard, authoritative guides to research laboratory methods in the life sciences; the U of M subscribes to 9 Current Protocols titles: Bioinformatics, more information]

Epocrates Rx: Free mobile drug and formulary reference Epocrates, Inc..

Peer-reviewed drug information including off-label indications and formularies in an easy to use format. PDA software compatible with Palm OS and Windows platforms only. Free online access and free download of PDA/mobile version......
[more information]

Johns Hopkins POC-IT Antibiotic (ABX) Guide John G. Bartlett. Johns Hopkins University Division of Infectious Diseases.

The Antibiotic Guide is a decision support tool intended to provide clinicians with concise, digested, timely information about the diagnosis and treatment of infectious diseases. The information is arranged so that it is clinically useful at the poi.....
[more information]

Lange's Handbook of Chemistry Authentication Required McGraw-Hill.. 1973-.

Library Location: WALTER Sci/Eng Reference TP151 .H25 MAGRATH Reference TP151 .L36y
Classic reference covering the entire field of chemistry, with up-to-date facts, figures, numerical values, tables, and formulas......
[more information]

Merck Index: An Encyclopedia of Chemicals, Drugs, and Biologicals Authentication Required Maryadele J. O’Neil. Merck Research Laboratories. 2001. 13th.

Library Location: RS51 .M4x 2001 WALTER Sci/Eng Ref (Desk); MAGRATH Reference; VETERINARY MEDICINE Reference;
BIO-MED Reference QV772 M555 2001
Classic reference source for chemists; contains over 10,000 entries on drugs and pharmaceuticals, common organic chemicals and laboratory reagents. The entries include data such as chemical names, molecular formula, chemical structure, physical data,.....
[more information]

Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Mosby's Drug Consult On CD-ROM Format Mosby. 2004. 2nd.

Drug catalog including generic substitutions, therapeutic equivalents, and pharmaceutical preparations; CD supplement includes Drug Master Plus drug interaction tool, Patient Drug Consult and customizable patient education sheets......
[more information]

Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

OMIM (Online Mendelian Inheritance in Man) This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service. Victor A. McKusick.

Extensive online catalog of human genes and genetic disorders, with detailed monographs on mechanistic and clinical aspects of the genes, disease states, and variations......
[more information]

Physicians' Desk Reference Medical Economics Co..

Library Location: BIO-MED Reference Desk (non-circulating) VET-MED Reference RS75 .P5
Standard prescription drug reference, containing package insert information provided by drug manufacturers. Data on more than 4,000 drugs by brand and generic name, manufacturer and product category. Provides usage information and warnings, drug inte.....
[more information]

Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Practical Handbook of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology Gerald D. Fasman. CRC Press. 1989.

Library Location: MAGRATH Reference QP514.2 .P73 1989 WALTER SCI/ENG Reference QP514.2 .P73 1989
Tables of physical and chemical data on molecules of biological significance......
[more information]

Remington: The Science and Practice of Pharmacy Alfonso R. Gennaro. Mack Pub. Co.. 2000. 20th.

Library Location: BIO-MED Core Coll & Reserve QV704 R3879
This two volume set is a treatise on the theory and practice of the pharmaceutical sciences, with essential information about pharmaceutical and medicinal agents. It is also a guide to the professional responsibilities of the pharmacist......
[more information]

Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Springer Handbook of Enzymes Dietmar Schomburg. Springer. 2001-. 2nd.

Library Location: MAGRATH Reference QP601 .E5158 2001
Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

USP DI Advice for the Patient United States Pharmacopeial Convention.

Library Location: BIO-MED Core Coll & Reserve QV740 AA1 U86a
These annual volumes provide monographs on drugs and drug therapy, including adverse effects, dosing information, and drug interactions. Advice for the Patient is written in lay terminology and intended for the health care consumer......
[more information]

Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

USP DI Drug Information for the Health Care Provider United States Pharmacopeial Convention.

Library Location: QV740 AA1 U86d
BIO-MED Core Coll & Reserve; BIO-MED
VETERINARY MEDICINE Periodicals (no call number)
These annual volumes provide monographs on drugs and drug therapy, including adverse effects, dosing information, and drug interactions. Drug Information for the Health Care Provider is written in technical language......
[more information]

Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Top

Internet Resources

Electronic Texts


NCBI Bookshelf This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service. 
Growing collection of online, open access biomedical books; full text can be searched directly from this interface......
[more information]

Web Sites


Healthweb: Pharmacy and Pharmacology
-- Provides links to career resources, education programs, reference resources and more........
[more information]


Top

Statistics and Data

Data Resources



PubChem
PubChem provides information on the biological activities of small molecules. It is organized as three linked databases within the NCBI's Entrez information retrieval system. These are PubChem Substance, PubChem Compound, and PubChem BioAssay. PubChe.....
[more information]

Top

Style Manuals and Writing Guides

Bibliography Software


RefWorks: Personal Citation Manager Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service. 
RefWorks is a web-based citation manager that allows you to create your own databases of citations by importing references from MNCAT and other databases, and then in seconds automatically generate bibliographies in all major styles (MLA, APA, Turabi.....
[more information]

Style Manuals


National Library of Medicine Recommended Formats for Bibliographic Citation Karen Patrias. Bethesda, MD : U.S. Dept. of Health and Human Services, Public Health Service, National Institutes of Health, National Library of Medicine, Reference Section. 1991.

Library Location: BIO-MED Reference WZ345 P314n 1991
Includes recommended citation format styles for journals, books, conference publications, patents, audio visuals, electronic information, maps, legal materials, newspaper articles, bibliographies, dissertations, and scientific reports. "Internet for.....
[more information]

Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Scientific Style and Format: The CBE Manual for Authors, Editors, and Publishers, 7th ed. Style Manual Committee, Council of Biology Editors. Cambridge ; New York : Cambridge University Press. 2006. 7th.

Library Location: T11 .S386 1994 MAGRATH; MAGRATH Reference; WALTER Sci/Eng Reference; Ent/Fish/Wild Library Reference; FORESTRY Ref (Secured); PLANT PATHOLOGY Reference; VETERINARY MEDICINE Reference; BIO-MED Reference WZ345 C386s 1994
Published by the Style Manual Committee, Council of Biology Editors......
[more information]

Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Electronic Styles : A Handbook for Citing Electronic Information
Library Location: PN171 .F56 L5 1996 WALTER SCI/ENG Reference; WALTER SCI/ENG Ref (Desk); MAGRATH Reference; WILSON Business Reference; WILSON Reference; MATHEMATICS Reference; BIO-MED Reference WZ345 L693e 1996
Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Health Professionals Stylebook : Putting Your Language to Work Shirley H. Fondiller, Barbara J. Nerone. National League for Nursing Press. 1993.

Library Location: BIO-MED Reference WZ345 F673h 1993
Handbook to help the reader write an essay or paper with proper usage and style for the health sciences. Pub. (National League for Nursing) ; no. 14-2551.....
[more information]

Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

NCBI Journals Database This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service. 
Useful tool for finding the full title of a journal in biomedicine, if you only have an abbreviation, or for determining from the full title what the official NLM and ISO abbreviations of the title are (e.g., for preparing a reference list)......
[more information]

Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association APA. Washington, DC : American Psychological Association. 2001. 5th.

Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Writing Guides


How to Write and Publish a Scientific Paper 6th.

Library Location: TC Magrath Library T11 .D33 2006

Concisely covers all aspects of science writing, from choosing a title to acknowledgments and references: submission strategies; other forms of science writing (book reviews, theses, presentations, posters); English language usage......
[more information]

Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Uniform Requirements for Manuscripts Submitted to Biomedical Journals: and supplemental statements from the International Committee of Medical Journal Editors. International Committee of Medical Journal Editors. 1997-.

Library Location: Bio-Medical Library WZ345 U58 1994
Covers guidelines for the format of manuscripts submitted to biomedical journals. In addition, discusses retraction of research findings, order of authorship, definition of a peer-reviewed journal, and conflict of interest.....
[more information]

Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Top