Accessibility Shortcuts

Skip to Content Skip to Main Navigation
UofM wordmark
185x140Header
HAVE A QUESTION? ASK US!
Email | IM | Chat | Contacts
(612) 626-4045
get firefox, the browser you can trust

Physical Education, Recreation and Kinesiology - Selected Resources

Print Page Print Page

Subject Description: This subject covers: Study of training in physical fitness and in skills requiring or promoting such fitness (Britannica Online).

Abstracts and Indexes

* Premier Resources *


Physical Education Index Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service. RefWorks enabled 
    1970-present
Search PEI for a wide range of Physical Education & Kinesiology topics including physical education curricula, sports medicine, dance, sport law, motor learning, recreation, standardized fitness tests, sports equipment, business and marketing, coachi.....
[more information]

SPORT Discus Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service. 
    1800 - present, updated monthly.
Resource Guide: http://www.sirc.ca/documents/EBSCOSearchGuideSPORTDiscus.pdf

Academic or Scholarly Articles Subject Indexes


AMED - Allied and Complementary Medicine Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service. RefWorks enabled 
    1985 - present
Subjects covered include acupuncture, terminal care, symptom control, osteopathy, Chinese medicine, homeopathy, rehabilitation, occupational therapy, chiropractic, holistic treatments, and podiatry.

The Libraries' subscription to this resource .....
[more information]


Business Source Premier Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service. RefWorks enabled 
    Varies By Title
Sources Indexed: http://www.epnet.com/titleLists/bu-fulltext.htm
This resource is licensed by the MINITEX Library Information Network with state appropriations from the Minnesota Higher Education Services Office (MHESO) and the Minnesota Department of Education.
Business Sour.....
[more information]

CINAHL Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service. RefWorks enabled 
    1982 - present, updated monthly.Cinahl Information Systems..

Resource Guide: http://support.ebsco.com/training/flash_videos/CINAHLBasicSearching.html

Education Full Text Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service. RefWorks enabled 
    1983-present
United States: Education Full Text offers full-text access to about half of the 500+ education journals indexed in it. While indexing began in 1983, abstracts were added starting in 1994. Full-text coverage began in January 1996 for selected journa.....
[more information]


Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI) Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service. RefWorks enabled 
    1983 - present, updated quarterly.
Resource Guide: http://www.biomed.lib.umn.edu/help/guides/hapi2

MEDLINE (OVID) Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service. RefWorks enabled 
    1966 - present, updated weekly.
Resource Guide: http://www.biomed.lib.umn.edu/files/SearchingOvid.pdf


Sports Business Research Network Authentication Required 
Contains sports market research, news and archives,and sports business marketplace information. .....
[more information]

General Indexes to Magazine, Journal & Newspaper Articles


Academic Search Premier Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service. RefWorks enabled 
    Coverage varies, some starting with 1975 - present, updated continuously.
Sources Indexed: http://www.epnet.com/titleLists/ap-fulltext.htm
This resource is licensed by the MINITEX Library Information Network with state appropriations from the Minnesota Higher Education Services Office (MHESO) and the Minnesota Department of Education.
The world's.....
[more information]

MasterFile Premier Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service. RefWorks enabled 
Sources Indexed: http://www.epnet.com/titleLists/f5-fulltext.htm
This resource is licensed by the MINITEX Library Information Network with state appropriations from the Minnesota Higher Education Services Office (MHESO) and the Minnesota Department of Education.
MasterFILE Pr.....
[more information]

Top

Catalogs and Bibliographies

Catalogs


MNCAT
Search MNCAT, the libraries' catalog, to find books, journals, etc. owned by the library. Search by keyword, subject, title, or author for materials on your topic......
[more information]

Top

General Reference Sources

Biographical Sources


Biographical Dictionary of American Sports, Cumulative Index
Covers the first five volumes in this series which provides comprehensive biographical information on nearly 3000 of the most exceptional sports figures in America......
[more information]

Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Outstanding women athletes Phoenix,AZ: Oryx Press.

Library Location: Wilson Reference GV697 .A1 W69 1992
Biographies of 80 key female athletes......
[more information]

Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Dissertations and Theses


Oregon Physical Education Thesis Collection
Library Location: They are in the Wilson Reference Room (first floor, Wilson Library)--in a separate drawer just before fiche set 127 begins. They are in alphabetic order by author. These fiche are separately cataloged in MNCAT and so can be searched by author and/or subject.
This collection of microfiche includes master's theses and doctoral theses and dissertations on the subjects of health, physical education, and recreation. The complete document is found on microfiche. The theses are written by graduate students from.....
[more information]

Encyclopedias


Encyclopedia of Women and Sport in America
By Carole A. Oglesby (Editor), Doreen L. Greenberg, Karen Hill (Editor.) "The challenges and achievements of female athletes in the U.S. are the focus of this collection of nearly 300 articles and biographies that portray the diversity, depth, and me.....
[more information]

Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Encyclopedia of World Sport: From Ancient Times to the Present
By David Levinson (Editor), Karen Christensen (Editor). .....
[more information]

Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Whitaker's Olympic Almanack : An Encyclopedia of the Olympic Games.
Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Forms, Tests, Inventories


Directory of Psychological Tests in the Sport and Exercise Sciences, 2nd edition, 2002.
Edited by Andrew Ostrow. "Summarizes information on 314 psychology scales, questionnaires and inventories specific to sport and exercise settings.".....
[more information]

Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Top

Internet Resources

Gateways & Megasites



Amateur Athletic Foundation Sports Library
The AAF Sports Library is one of the world's largest sports research collections. Contains Official Olympic reports for every Modern Olympic Games and oral histories of many olympians. The Library's ongoing digitization project makes thousands of.....
[more information]




Center for Study of Sports in Society
From Northeastern University.....
[more information]








PE Central
Current information on developmentally appropriate physical education programs for youth......
[more information]

President's Council on Physical Fitness and Sports
Research reports and other resources.....
[more information]

Resources of Scholarly Societies - Recreation & Leisure Studies
Links to websites of scholarly societies in Recreation & Leisure Studies......
[more information]

Scholarly Sports Sites: A Subject Directory
This subject directory brings together the websites which will assist the serious sports researcher, kinesiology librarian, sport information specialist, college/university student and faculty......
[more information]

Sports Media
Lesson plans and resources for the Physical Education teacher......
[more information]

Surgeon General's Report on Physical Activity and Health
"This report brings together, for the first time, what has been learned about physical activity and health from decades of research.".....
[more information]

Women's History Resources: Women in Sports
From the St. Lawrence County Branch of the AAUW......
[more information]


Top

Style Manuals and Writing Guides

Bibliography Software


RefWorks: Personal Citation Manager Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service. 
RefWorks is a web-based citation manager that allows you to create your own databases of citations by importing references from MNCAT and other databases, and then in seconds automatically generate bibliographies in all major styles (MLA, APA, Turabi.....
[more information]

Writing Guides


QuickStudy -- Citing Sources
QuickStudy: Library Research Guide from the University of Minnesota provides examples online for APA, MLA and Turabian styles, including how to cite electronic sources......
[more information]

Top