Accessibility Shortcuts

Skip to Content Skip to Main Navigation
UofM wordmark
185x140Header
HAVE A QUESTION? ASK US!
Email | IM | Chat | Contacts
(612) 626-4045
get firefox, the browser you can trust

INMD Physician and Society I

Print Page Print Page

 

Course Instructors:
Professor: James Pacala pacal001@umn.edu
 
Information Resources
  • MEDLINE (OVID) Authentication Required
    MEDLINE includes citations from the fields of medicine, public health, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, and the basic biomedical sciences.

    The Libraries’ subscription to this resource allows for 40 users at any one time. If you get a busy signal, please wait a few minutes and try accessing the site again.

    MEDLINE is the National Library of Medicine’s bibliographic database/article index that contains over 17 million references to journal articles. Coverage is from 1949 to the present. Over 5200 journals worldwide in over 37 languages are indexed. Covered are basic biomedical research and the clinical sciences, including nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, pharmacy, allied health and pre-clinical sciences as well as life sciences that are important to practitioners and researchers â€" biology, environmental science, biophysics, chemistry and plant & animal science. Ovid, a software company specializing in text retrieval applications and search interfaces, provides an easy to use interface for searching MEDLINE.
  • PubMed - U of M Students, Staff & Faculty Authentication Required
    Primary source of journal article access for the health sciences - the campus version provides full text access to all Medline e-journals subscribed to by the University of Minnesota TC Libraries. Includes Medline and Pre-Medline (articles more recent than found in Medline).
    • PubMed (Bio-Medical Library guide)
      This guide from the Bio-Medical Library gives users an overview on how to search the free web version of the Medline database, PubMed.
  • Harrison's Online Authentication Required
    Consists of the latest edition of the basic text of Harrison’s principles of internal medicine, sections on clinical trials, updates (and their related references, including abstracts) related to the text and an online pretests section. Also included is an online forum where interested participants can post messages, read, or join any discussion threads.

    The Libraries’ subscription to this resource allows for 5 users at any one time. If you get a busy signal, please wait a few minutes and try accessing the site again.
  • MD Consult Authentication Required
    Full text access to selected medical texts, medical journals, practice guidelines, drug information, patient handouts, and CME materials.
    Remote access available for University of Minnesota -- Twin Cities students, staff and faculty.
  • STAT!Ref Authentication Required
    Provides keyword searchable access to the full text of more than thirty medical and drug textbooks.

    The Libraries’ subscription to this resource allows for 5 users at any one time. If you get a busy signal, please wait a few minutes and try accessing the site again.


[Return to Top]
Library Resources
  • Ask a Librarian -- Bio-Medical Library
    Reference staff monitor the account periodically during normal business hours (Monday-Friday, 8:00-5:00). Our goal is to send you a response within one business day. If this turn-around time is not fast enough to meet your needs, you may call our reference desk at (612) 626-3260. In-person requests are taken at the Reference desk, 2nd floor Diehl Hall. Email reference questions should be of the "ready-reference" type. e.g. asking for health science related facts, statistics, or citation verifications (maximum of 5 cites).
    • MNCAT
      Search MNCAT, the libraries’ catalog, to find books, journals, etc. owned by the library. Search by keyword, subject, title, or author for materials on your topic.
      • Electronic Journals
        This link will take you to the University Libraries Electronic Journals page. On that page you can either search for a specific journal, magazine or newspaper title or enter an e-journal vendor site. You will be presented with a list of results. Click on the appropriate title to begin accessing the online version of that periodical. Keyword searching of more than one journal at a time is sometimes possible, depending upon the search capabilities provided by the vendor who supplied the original journal that you referenced.
  • Bio-Medical Library - Services
    -- Services available for students, faculty and staff. Including recalling books and journals, librarian-mediated searches, and reference consultations.
[Return to Top]



Page Coordinator: Jim Beattie jbeattie@umn.edu
Top

New: Code Snippets (Beta)

Want this Guide Page on Your Blog, WebCT Class or Other Web Page?

Just copy and Paste the Code Snippet Below into your web page. Learn More