Accessibility Shortcuts

Skip to Content Skip to Main Navigation
UofM wordmark
185x140Header
HAVE A QUESTION? ASK US!
Email | IM | Chat | Contacts
(612) 626-4045
get firefox, the browser you can trust

Psychiatry - Selected Resources

Print Page Print Page

Subject Description: This subject covers: the medical science that deals with the origin, diagnosis, prevention, and treatment of mental disorder.

Abstracts and Indexes

Academic or Scholarly Articles Subject Indexes


MEDLINE (OVID) Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service. RefWorks enabled 
    1966 - present, updated weekly.
Resource Guide: http://www.biomed.lib.umn.edu/files/SearchingOvid.pdf


PsycINFO Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service. RefWorks enabled 
    1806 - present, updated weeklyThe American Psychological Association.

Covers all areas of psychology. Provides bibliographic citations and abstracts to articles from more than 1300 international journals in psychology and related fields. In addition, PsycINFO covers books, book chapters, and dissertations. PsycINFO .....
[more information]


Science Citation Index Expanded (ISI) Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service. 
    1975 - present, updated weekly. The Institute for Scientific Information.

Resource Guide: http://www.biomed.lib.umn.edu/help/guides/woscited

General Indexes to Magazine, Journal & Newspaper Articles


Academic Search Premier Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service. RefWorks enabled 
    Coverage varies, some starting with 1975 - present, updated continuously.
Sources Indexed: http://www.epnet.com/titleLists/ap-fulltext.htm
This resource is licensed by the MINITEX Library Information Network with state appropriations from the Minnesota Higher Education Services Office (MHESO) and the Minnesota Department of Education.
The world's.....
[more information]

Current Contents Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service. RefWorks enabled 
    1994 - present, updated weekly
FYI: Current Contents Database to be Replaced on January 1, 2006! .....
[more information]

Health and Medicine in the News
    May 1994 - present.
Lists citations to health-related articles reported in the Star Tribune - Newspaper of the Twin Cities [Minneapolis Edition]......
[more information]

LexisNexis Academic Authentication Required 
    Varies by title.
LexisNexis Academic is a collection of online databases: News, Business (plus corporate news and corporate financials), Legal, Medical, and Reference. International news sources are included. .....
[more information]

MasterFile Premier Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service. RefWorks enabled 
Sources Indexed: http://www.epnet.com/titleLists/f5-fulltext.htm
This resource is licensed by the MINITEX Library Information Network with state appropriations from the Minnesota Higher Education Services Office (MHESO) and the Minnesota Department of Education.
MasterFILE Pr.....
[more information]

Indexes, Other


Mental Measurements Yearbook Authentication Required 
    1985-
MMY, from the Buros Institute, contains the most recent descriptive information and critical reviews of new and revised tests from the Buros Institute's 9th and more recent Yearbooks. The electronic version complements the print version. .....
[more information]

Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Top

Catalogs and Bibliographies

Catalogs


MNCAT
Search MNCAT, the libraries' catalog, to find books, journals, etc. owned by the library. Search by keyword, subject, title, or author for materials on your topic......
[more information]

Top

General Reference Sources

Dictionaries


Campbell's Psychiatric Dictionary Robert Jean Campbell. Oxford University Press. 2004. 8th.

Library Location: BIO-MED Reference WM13 C189c 2004
Defines words and concepts currently used in psychiatry. Incorporates new terms and diagnostic criteria on DSM-IV as well as terms from the WHO levicons on mental disorders and on alcoholism and other substance dependency that will accompany ICD-10.....
[more information]

Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Encyclopedia of Phobias, Fears, and Anxieties Ronald M. Doctor and Ada P. Kahn. Facts on File. 2000.

Library Location: BIO-MED Reference WM13 D637e 1989; WILSON Reference RC535 .D63 1989
Includes more than 2000 entries on anxiety disorders, panic attacks, specific phobias, and obsessive-compulsive disorders. Covers important research, treatments, and key researchers working in the field. .....
[more information]

Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Lexicon of Psychiatry, Neurology, and the Neurosciences Frank J. Ayd, Jr. Lippincott Williams & Wilkins. 2000. 2nd.

Library Location: BIO-MED Reference WM13 A975L 2000
Contains over 10,000 entries that describe common and rare psychiatric, neurologic, and genetic disorders. Extensive details on psychoactive drugs, their adverse effects in general and specific effects on various diseases and disorders. .....
[more information]

Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Encyclopedias


Encyclopaedia Britannica Online Authentication Required 
Concise as well as scholarly articles on a wide range of subjects. Also includes links to related Internet resources, and the Britannica Book of the Year. Search tip: When combining words in search, capitalize AND. For example: revolution AND .....
[more information]

Handbooks and Manuals


Kaplan & Saddock's Comprehensive Textbook of Psychiatry editors, Benjamin J. Sadock, Virginia A. Sadock. Lippincott Williams & Wilkins. 2000. 7th.

Library Location: BIO-MED Reference WM140 K173 2000
1. Neural sciences -- 2. Neuropsychiatry and behavioral neurology -- 3. Contributions of the psychological sciences -- 4. Contributions of the sociocultural sciences -- 5. Quantitiative and experimental methods in psychiatry -- 6. Theories of persona.....
[more information]

Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Top

Statistics and Data

Statistical Resources


Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders : DSM-IV American Psychiatric Association. American Psychiatric Association. 1994. 4th.

Library Location: BIO-MED WM15 D536 1994
DSM-IV classification -- Multiaxial assessment -- Disorders usually first diagnosed in infancy, childhood, or adolescence. Delirium, dementia, and amnestic and other cognitive disorders --Mental disorders due to a general medical condition -- Substan.....
[more information]

Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Top

Style Manuals and Writing Guides

Bibliography Software


RefWorks: Personal Citation Manager Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service. 
RefWorks is a web-based citation manager that allows you to create your own databases of citations by importing references from MNCAT and other databases, and then in seconds automatically generate bibliographies in all major styles (MLA, APA, Turabi.....
[more information]

Style Manuals


Electronic Styles : A Handbook for Citing Electronic Information
Library Location: PN171 .F56 L5 1996 WALTER SCI/ENG Reference; WALTER SCI/ENG Ref (Desk); MAGRATH Reference; WILSON Business Reference; WILSON Reference; MATHEMATICS Reference; BIO-MED Reference WZ345 L693e 1996
Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Health Professionals Stylebook : Putting Your Language to Work Shirley H. Fondiller, Barbara J. Nerone. National League for Nursing Press. 1993.

Library Location: BIO-MED Reference WZ345 F673h 1993
Handbook to help the reader write an essay or paper with proper usage and style for the health sciences. Pub. (National League for Nursing) ; no. 14-2551.....
[more information]

Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association APA. Washington, DC : American Psychological Association. 2001. 5th.

Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Writing Guides


How to Write and Publish a Scientific Paper 6th.

Library Location: TC Magrath Library T11 .D33 2006

Concisely covers all aspects of science writing, from choosing a title to acknowledgments and references: submission strategies; other forms of science writing (book reviews, theses, presentations, posters); English language usage......
[more information]

Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Top