Accessibility Shortcuts

Skip to Content Skip to Main Navigation
UofM wordmark
185x140Header
HAVE A QUESTION? ASK US!
Email | IM | Chat | Contacts
(612) 626-4045
get firefox, the browser you can trust

Psychology - Selected Resources

Print Page Print Page

Subject Description: This subject covers: the systematic study of the mind, behavior, animal/human experience, mental life, intelligence, learning, emotions and feelings as it relates to the function of the mind and mental processes.

Abstracts and Indexes

* Premier Resources *


PsycINFO Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service. RefWorks enabled 
    1806 - present, updated weeklyThe American Psychological Association.

Covers all areas of psychology. Provides bibliographic citations and abstracts to articles from more than 1300 international journals in psychology and related fields. In addition, PsycINFO covers books, book chapters, and dissertations. PsycINFO .....
[more information]

Academic or Scholarly Articles Subject Indexes


Academic Search Premier Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service. RefWorks enabled 
    Coverage varies, some starting with 1975 - present, updated continuously.
Sources Indexed: http://www.epnet.com/titleLists/ap-fulltext.htm
This resource is licensed by the MINITEX Library Information Network with state appropriations from the Minnesota Higher Education Services Office (MHESO) and the Minnesota Department of Education.
The world's.....
[more information]


Digital Dissertations Authentication Required 
    1861 - present (Doctoral dissertations); 1962 - present (Masters theses).
Library Location: Print Version available at WILSON Quarto Z5053 .D57 and other locations under varying titles. See reference librarian for assistance. Print version: 1933/34 - present
Dissertations and theses from over 1000 universities. Doctoral dissertations are indexed for almost all North American graduate schools and many European universities. Masters theses from selected schools only. Provides bibliographic citations for o.....
[more information]

Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

EdLibUpdates -- Autism and Asperger's Syndrome
Blog highlights new books and more about autism & Asperger's syndrome......
[more information]

EdLibUpdates -- Educational Disparities
Blog highlights books and journal citations about educational disparities, achievement gaps, and educational equality & access......
[more information]

Education Full Text Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service. RefWorks enabled 
    1983-present
United States: Education Full Text offers full-text access to about half of the 500+ education journals indexed in it. While indexing began in 1983, abstracts were added starting in 1994. Full-text coverage began in January 1996 for selected journa.....
[more information]


Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI) Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service. RefWorks enabled 
    1983 - present, updated quarterly.
Resource Guide: http://www.biomed.lib.umn.edu/help/guides/hapi2


JSTOR Authentication Required RefWorks enabled 
Index to JSTOR, full text academic journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. JSTOR provides complete journal backruns from the date of initial publication up to a date defined, on a publisher by publisher basis, by a "moving wall". T.....
[more information]

Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service. RefWorks enabled 
    1973-present
Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) assists both generalists and specialists in keeping abreast of cutting-edge developments in disciplines concerned with the nature and use of language. The database covers all aspects of the study of l.....
[more information]

Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability


MIT CogNet
An online community for the brain and cognitive sciences. Includes access to e-journals, e-books, conference materials and more.
Remote access available for University of Minnesota -- Twin Cities students, staff and faculty .....
[more information]

Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

PsycARTICLES Authentication Required APA.

PsycARTICLES Database contains the full text of articles from APA (American Psychological Association) journals and selected EPF (Educational Publishing Foundation) journals, most from 1988 to the present. The articles are provided in HTML format for.....
[more information]

Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

PsycBOOKS Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service. 
A full-text database of APA books, classic books, and entries from the Encyclopedia of Psychology. PsycBOOKS is accessed via APA's PsycNET interface......
[more information]

PsycCRITIQUES Authentication Required 
    2004 - present
PsycCRITIQUES is a searchable database of book reviews in psychology......
[more information]

PsychiatryOnline Authentication Required American Psychiatry Publising.

A combination of core psychiatry textbooks and journals......
[more information]

Social Sciences Citation Index (included in Web of Science) Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service. 
    1975 - present, updated weekly.
Covers the social sciences, including anthropology, history, industrial relations, information science and library science, law, linguistics, philosophy, psychology, psychiatry, political science, public health, social issues, social work, sociology,.....
[more information]

Top

Catalogs and Bibliographies

Catalogs


MNCAT Plus
Search MNCAT, the libraries' catalog, to find books, journals, etc. owned by the library. Search by keyword, subject, title, or author for materials on your topic......
[more information]

WorldCat Authentication Required RefWorks enabled 
    2150 BC - present (most records from 1968 - present), updated daily.
This resource is licensed by the MINITEX Library Information Network with state appropriations from the Minnesota Higher Education Services Office (MHESO) and the Minnesota Department of Education
Covers all sub.....
[more information]

Top

General Reference Sources

Directories


Cabell's Directories of Publishing Opportunities Authentication Required 
Information about journal publishing opportunities in Business, Economics, Education, and Psychology. The Business section includes Accounting, Economics, Finance, Management, and Marketing journals. The Education section includes: Educational Curr.....
[more information]

Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Forms, Tests, Inventories


American Psychological Association: Testing and Assessment
The APA's web site with information about psychological testing, standards for testing, and locating tests......
[more information]

Association of Test Publishers (ATP)
"Established in 1992, The Association of Test Publishers is a non-profit organization representing providers of tests and assessment tools and/or services related to assessment, selection, screening, certification, licensing, educational or clinical .....
[more information]

Buros Center for Testing
Web site with information about the Buros Institute, tests, test reviews, Buros publications, and instructions for using Buros publications, including Mental Measurements Yearbook and Tests in Print......
[more information]

Directory of Unpublished Experimental Mental Measures
Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

ETS Test Collection Database (Educational Testing Service)
The large ETS Test Collection Database includes references to 1000+ Tests in Microfiche (TIM), housed in the Wilson Library Reference Room (Microfiche Set 129). These are unpublished tests on a wide range of topics, 1975-. Only those iden.....
[more information]

Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability


Mental Measurements Yearbook Authentication Required 
    1985-
MMY, from the Buros Institute, contains the most recent descriptive information and critical reviews of new and revised tests from the Buros Institute's 9th and more recent Yearbooks. The electronic version complements the print version. .....
[more information]

Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Test Collection in Wilson Library Annex Authentication Required 
A collection of 1200 psychological and educational inventories is housed in the Wilson Library Annex. This is primarily an archival collection since new inventories are not currently being purchased.....
[more information]

Test Critiques
Each volume published since 1991 includes about 100 critical reviews of commercial tests used in psychological assessment, business and education......
[more information]

Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Test Purchase Information
(FAQ from the University Libraries Frequently Asked Questions database) Answers the question, "How do I purchase a psychological test or mental measurement tool?".....
[more information]

Tests in Print Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service. 
Produced by the Buros Institute of Mental Measurements at the University of Nebraska, Tests in Print (TIP) serves as a comprehensive bibliography to all known commercially available tests that are currently in print in the English language; TIP provi.....
[more information]

Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability


Top

Internet Resources

Electronic Texts


Annual Reviews Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service. 
Remote access available for University of Minnesota -- Twin Cities students, staff and faculty .....
[more information]

DSM IV Authentication Required 
The most recent edition of the DSM (Diagnostic and Statistical Manual) is available online as part of the STAT!Ref File......
[more information]

Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability


Occupational Outlook Handbook Bureau of Labor Statistics. U.S. Government Printing Office.

The Occupational Outlook Handbook is a source of career information designed to provide assistance to individuals making decisions about their future work lives. Revised every two years, the Handbook describes what workers do on the job, working con.....
[more information]

Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

R2 Library Authentication Required 
Electronic book collection covering the health sciences......
[more information]

Thinking clearly about psychology. Volume 1, Matters of public interest : essays in honour of Paul Meehl edited by Dante Cicchetti and William M. Grove.. Minneapolis : Minnesota University Press, c1991..

Editors: Dante Cicchetti and William M. Grove. Paper copy is also available -- TC Wilson Library RC467 .T43 1991.....
[more information]

Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Thinking clearly about psychology. Volume 2, Personality and psychopathology : essays in honor of Paul Meehl edited by Dante Cicchetti and William M. Grove.. Minneapolis : University of Minnesota Press, c1991..

Editors: Dante Cicchetti and William M. Grove. Paper copy is also available -- TC Wilson Library RC467 .T43 1991.....
[more information]

Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Gateways & Megasites



Classics in the History of Psychology, & Related Areas
Online access to classic articles and books in Psychology and Related Disciplines.....
[more information]



Top

Style Manuals and Writing Guides

Bibliography Software


RefWorks: Personal Citation Manager Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service. 
RefWorks is a web-based citation manager that allows you to create your own databases of citations by importing references from MNCAT and other databases, and then in seconds automatically generate bibliographies in all major styles (MLA, APA, Turabi.....
[more information]

Style Manuals



Top