Accessibility Shortcuts

Skip to Content Skip to Main Navigation
UofM wordmark
185x140Header
HAVE A QUESTION? ASK US!
Email | IM | Chat | Contacts
(612) 626-4045
get firefox, the browser you can trust

PUBH Public Health Resources

Print Page Print Page

 

Course Instructors:
Librarian: Lisa McGuire lmcguire@umn.edu
 

This is a six-minute online overview of important resources and services provided by the Bio-Medical Library. This is a great place to start when you are new to the U and trying to figure out where to go on our homepage. Audio is included, or use the ’Notes’ tab to read the attached text.

Research Tips & Tricks

Need help with starting a research project? Check out these resources to save time and frustration
  • Library Research Tips
    Checklist to help guide you through the library research process. Also covers the difference between scholarly and popular magazine as well as identifying primary, secondary and tertiary sources.

Information Resources
  • MEDLINE (OVID) Authentication Required
    MEDLINE includes citations from the fields of medicine, public health, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, and the basic biomedical sciences.

    The Libraries’ subscription to this resource allows for 40 users at any one time. If you get a busy signal, please wait a few minutes and try accessing the site again.

    MEDLINE is the National Library of Medicine’s bibliographic database/article index that contains over 17 million references to journal articles. Coverage is from 1949 to the present. Over 5200 journals worldwide in over 37 languages are indexed. Covered are basic biomedical research and the clinical sciences, including nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, pharmacy, allied health and pre-clinical sciences as well as life sciences that are important to practitioners and researchers â€" biology, environmental science, biophysics, chemistry and plant & animal science. Ovid, a software company specializing in text retrieval applications and search interfaces, provides an easy to use interface for searching MEDLINE.
  • PubMed - U of M Students, Staff & Faculty Authentication Required
    Primary source of journal article access for the health sciences - the campus version provides full text access to all Medline e-journals subscribed to by the University of Minnesota TC Libraries. Includes Medline and Pre-Medline (articles more recent than found in Medline).
    • PubMed (Bio-Medical Library guide)
      This guide from the Bio-Medical Library gives users an overview on how to search the free web version of the Medline database, PubMed.
  • CINAHL Authentication Required
    CINAHL, Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health, has a multidisciplinary scope covering nursing, 17 allied health disciplines, biomedicine, consumer health, health sciences librarianship and selected standards of professional practice.
  • Global Health Authentication Required
    Global Health brings together the resources of two internationally renowned databases - the Public Health and Tropical Medicine (PHTM) database, previously produced by the Bureau of Hygiene and Tropical Diseases (BHTD), and the human health and diseases information extracted from CAB ABSTRACTS. Over 16,000 serial sources from more than 130 countries are scanned regularly for inclusion in the Global Health database, to produce approximately 25,000 new entries per year. Nearly all records have informative English abstracts prepared by scientists and linguists.
  • PsycINFO Authentication Required
    Covers all areas of psychology. Provides bibliographic citations and abstracts to articles from more than 1300 international journals in psychology and related fields. In addition, PsycINFO covers books, book chapters, and dissertations. PsycINFO supports searching cited references.
  • LexisNexis Academic Authentication Required
    LexisNexis Academic is a collection of online databases: News, Business (plus corporate news and corporate financials), Legal, Medical, and Reference. International news sources are included.
  • Social Science Databases
    -- (U of M Internet ID and password required may be required)This link provides access to 80+ social sciences related indexes. Please note: U of M userid/password may be required.
  • Academic Search Premier Authentication Required
    This resource is licensed by the MINITEX Library Information Network with state appropriations from the Minnesota Higher Education Services Office (MHESO) and the Minnesota Department of Education.
    The world’s largest academic multi-disciplinary database, Academic Search Premier provides full text for nearly 4,600 scholarly publications, including full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed journals. Coverage spans virtually every area of academic study and offers information dating as far back as 1975. This database is updated on a daily basis via EBSCOhost.

MNCAT
Search MNCAT, the libraries’ catalog, to find books, journals, etc. owned by the library. Search by keyword, subject, title, or author for materials on your topic.

Selected Journals

-- Top Ten Public, Environmental, & Occupational Health Journals as ranked by the Journal Citation Reports (JCR) for 2006 - Library Location indicated and E-journal link provided if available (U of M students, staff, and faculty only)

RefWorks: Personal Citation Manager
  • RefWorks: Personal Citation Manager Authentication Required
    RefWorks is a web-based citation manager that allows you to create your own databases of citations by importing references from MNCAT and other databases, and then in seconds automatically generate bibliographies in all major styles (MLA, APA, Turabian, Chicago, etc.).
    • RefWorks: Using RefWorks with Article Indexes
      Need to know how to import citations from MEDLINE, PubMed, or other article indexes into RefWorks? Click here for PDF instructions on how to do this with other 80 articles indexes here at the U

Bio-Medical Library Services
  • Get Personalized Help
    Lisa McGuire is the librarian who works with SPH students, faculty, and staff. Lisa is available to assist you with any research question, big or small!
  • Bio-Medical Library Classes
    Free to U of M students, staff and faculty. We offer a variety of instructional classes on topics such as navigating library resources, database search techniques, and Power Point presentations.
  • Bio-Medical Library - Interlibrary Loan
    -- Borrow a book or obtain an article from a journal. This borrowing service is for current students, staff and faculty in U of M health science programs.
  • UMN: Bio-Medical Library - Public Health
    This blog, authored by the Bio-Medical Library liaison to the School of Public Health is intended to keep faculty, staff, and students up-to-date on library resources and services of interest to those in public health.

Internet Resources
  • CDC Wonder
    WONDER provides a single point of access to a wide variety of reports and numeric public health data.
  • Partners in Information Access for the Public Health Workforce
    Partners in Information Access for the Public Health Workforce is a collaboration of U.S. government agencies, public health organizations, and health sciences libraries which provides timely, convenient access to selected public health resources on the Internet.
  • State Health Facts Online
    -- Contains the latest state-level data on demographics, health, and health policy, including health coverage, access, financing, and state legislation.


Page Coordinator: Lisa McGuire lmcguire@umn.edu
Top

New: Code Snippets (Beta)

Want this Guide Page on Your Blog, WebCT Class or Other Web Page?

Just copy and Paste the Code Snippet Below into your web page. Learn More