Scientific Writing Development Series: Session IV, May 4th
Location: 1-450G Moos Tower
Panel participants:
Anne Marie Weber-Main, PhD, Dept of Family Medicine & Community Health
Michelle van Ryn, PhD, Dept of Family Medicine & Community Health
Michael Murtaugh, PhD, College of Veterinary Medicine
Jim Beattie,, MLIS, Bio-Medical Library
Michael Franklin,MSc, Department of Medicine
Books
- How to write and publish a scientific paper
Day, Robert A. & Gastel, Barbara. 6th ed. Greenwood Press, 2006.
Part I: Some Preliminaries --
Chapter 1:
What is Scientific Writing? --
Chapter 2:
Historical Perspectives --
Chapter 3:
Approaching a Writing Project --
Chapter 4 :
What Is a Scientific Paper? --
Chapter 5:
Ethics in Scientific Publishing --
Chapter 6 :
Where to Submit Your Manuscript --
Part II: Preparing the Text --
Chapter 7:
How to Prepare the Title --
Chapter 8:
How to List the Authors and Addresses --
Chapter 9:
How to Prepare the Abstract --
Chapter 10:
How to Write the Introduction --
Chapter 11:
How to Write the Materials and Methods Section --
Chapter 12_
How to Write the Results --
Chapter 13:
How to Write the Discussion --
Chapter 14:
How to State the Acknowledgments --
Chapter 15:
How to Cite the References --
Part III: Preparing the Tables and Figures --
Chapter 16:
How to Design Effective Tables --
Chapter 17:
How to Prepare Effective Graphs --
Chapter 18:
How to Prepare Effective Photographs --
Part IV: Publishing the Paper --
Chapter 19 :
Rights and Permissions --
Chapter 20:
How to Submit the Manuscript --
Chapter 21:
The Review Process (How to Deal with Editors)--
Chapter 22:
The Publishing Process (How to Deal with Proofs) --
Part V: Doing Other Writing for Publication --
Chapter 23:
How to Write a Review Paper --
Chapter 24:
How to Write Opinion (Book Reviews, Editorials, and Letters to the Editor)--
Chapter 25:
How to Write a Book Chapter or a Book --
Chapter 26:
How to Write for the Public --
Part VI: Conference Communications --
Chapter 27:
How to Present a Paper Orally --
Chapter 28:
How to Prepare a Poster --
Chapter 29:
How to Write a Conference Report --
Part VII: Scientific Style --
Chapter 30:
Use and Misuse of English --
Chapter 31:
Avoiding Jargon --
Chapter 32:
How and When to Use Abbreviations --
Chapter 33:
Writing Clearly Across Cultures and Media --
Chapter 34:
How to Write Science in English as a Foreign Language --
Part VIII: Other Topics in Scientific Communication --
Chapter 35:
How to Write a Thesis --
Chapter 36:
How to Prepare a Curriculum Vitae --
Chapter 37:
How to Prepare Grant Proposals and Progress Reports --
Chapter 38:
How to Write a Recommendation Letter-and How to Ask for One --
Chapter 39 :
How to Work with the Media --
Chapter 40 :
How to Provide Peer Review --
Chapter 41:
How to Seek a Scientific-Communication Career --
Appendix 1:
Selected Journal Title Word Abbreviations --
Appendix 2 :
Words and Expressions to Avoid --
Appendix 3:
Prefixes and Abbreviations for SI (Système International) Units --
Glossary of Technical Terms
Location: Walter Sci/Eng Library Books (Level F) T11 .D33 2006 ; Bio-Medical Library Reference (On Order)
- Peer review in health sciences
Godlee, Fiona & Jefferson, Tom, eds. 2nd ed., BMJ Books, 2003.
Editorial peer review: its development and rationale -- Peer review of grant applications: a systematic review -- The state of the evidence: what we know and what we dont know about journal peer review -- The effectiveness of journal peer review -- Innovation and peer review -- Bias, subjectivity, chance, and conflict of interest in editorial decisions -- Misconduct and journal peer review -- Peer review and the pharmaceutical industry -- Small journals and non-English language journals -- How to set up a peer review system -- The evaluation and training of peer reviewers -- How to peer review a manuscript -- Statistical peer review -- Peer review of economic submissions -- How to peer review a qualitative manuscript -- Ethical conduct for reviewers of grant applications and manuscripts -- Non-peer review: consumer involvement in research review -- An authors guide to editorial peer review -- Peer review on the internet: are there faster, fairer, more effective methods of peer review? -- The use of systematic reviews for editorial peer reviewing: a population approach -- Alternatives to peer review I: peer and non-peer review -- Alternatives to peer review II: can peer review be better focused? -- Peer review: some questions from Socrates -- The future of peer review.
Location: TC Bio-Medical Library W21 P375 2003
- Publishing and presenting clinical research
Browner, Warren S., Lippincott Williams & Wilkins, 2006
Overview -- Title and abstract -- Introduction -- Methods -- Results -- Tables -- Figures -- Discussion -- References and electronic publishing -- Authorship -- Posters -- Oral presentations -- Choosing a journal and responding to reviews -- Suggestions for writing well.
* Location: TC Bio-Medical Library WZ345 B884p 2006
- Publishing your first research paper: what they don't teach in medical school
Byrne, Daniel. Williams & Wilkins, 1998.
Planning -- Observing -- Writing -- Editing -- Revising --Appendixes: Uniform requirements for manuscripts submitted to biomedical journals. Separate statements from the ICMJE. Peer review questionnaire. Medical journal questionnaire. Sample data collection form. Medical researchers directory. World Medical Association Declaration of Helsinki. Ode to multiauthorship.
Location: Bio-Medical Library Reference WZ345 P995p 1998 ; Veterinary Medical Library Reserve R119.B97 1997
- Successful scientific writing: a step-by-step guide for the biological and medical sciences
Matthews, Janice R., Bowen, John M., and Matthews, Robert W., 2nd ed., Cambridge University Press, 2000.
Scientific writing begins where research does - with a question -- The message determines the medium -- Write and revise systematically -- Attention to detail: the "final" copy -- Submit the typescript for publication -- Back and forth: editorial review -- Correct galley proof conscientiously -- Conduct an efficient and thorough literature search -- Use the Internet wisely and well -- Use email as a time-saving resource -- Use word processing to write more efficiently -- Revising with a world processor -- Organize and plan the content -- Deal with matters of authorship -- Understand matters of copyright -- Follow standard structure -- Approach writing in a way that builds momentum - and keeps it -- Choose visual aids wisely and use them well -- Use tables to present complex data or parallel descriptions -- Know when and how to include figures -- Use graphs to promote understanding of numerical results -- Use documentary illustrations effectively --
Use explanatory artwork effectively -- Structural changes come first -- Revise for clarity -- Revise for brevity -- Check for grammatical correctness -- Use tense to show the status of the work being discussed -- Treat numbers clearly and sensibly -- Recognize and minimize jargon -- Use the right word -- Use bias-free, inclusive language -- Revise for better verb choice -- Special tips when writers and readers have different first languages -- Punctuate for clarity -- Capitalize consistently -- Know how to treat scientific names -- Know when and how to include trade names -- Watch foreign words and phrases -- Minimize abbreviations, acronyms, and other shortened forms -- Practicing mixed corrections: a self-test -- App. 1. Suggested responses to exercises and self-test -- App. 2. Uniform requirements for manuscripts submitted to biomedical journals.
Location: Magrath Library R119.M28 2000 ; Veterinary Medical Library R119.M28 2000
- Writing and publishing in medicine.
Huth, Edward J., 3rd ed., Williams & Wilkins, 1999.
Pt. 1. Before Writing. 1. A Systematic Method for Writing and Publishing Papers. 2. The Paper, the Audience, and the Right Journal. 3. Searching the Literature. 4. Preparing to Write: Materials and Tools -- Pt. 2. The Content and Format of Papers. 5. Critical Argument and the Structure of Scientific Papers. 6. The Research Paper: General Principles for Structure and Content. 7. The Research Paper: Reporting Clinical Trials and Observational Studies. 8. The Research Paper: Reporting Laboratory Research. 9. The Review Article and the Metaanalysis. 10. The Case Report and the Case-Series Analysis. 11. The Editorial, the Book Review, and the Letter-to-the Editor -- Pt. 3. Writing and Revising. 12. The First Draft: Text. 13. The First Draft: Titles and Abstracts. 14. The First Draft: Tables. 15. The First Draft: Illustrations. 16. Revising Content and Structure. 17. Revising Prose Structure and Style. 18. Writing English as a Foreign Language.
19. Scientific Style and References. 20. Preparing the Final Manuscript -- Pt. 4. You and the Journal. 21. Submitting the Paper to the Journal. 22. Peer Reviewing and the Editors Decision. 23. Correcting Edited Manuscript or Proof. 24. Between Proof and Publication -- Pt. 5. Books. 25. Writing or Editing a Book. App. A. Guidelines on Authorship -- App. B. The "Uniform Requirements" Document: An Abridged Version -- App. C. Specialized Databases of The National Library of Medicine -- App. D. Searching Index Medicus: The Print Alternative to MEDLINE -- App. E. References and Reading: An Annotated Bibliography.
Location: Bio-Medical Library WZ345 H979w 1999
[Return to Top]
Library Resources
- Meet With a Librarian
The Bio-Medical Library at the University of Minnesota offers a Reference Consultation Service to University of Minnesota faculty, staff and students to provide in-depth reference assistance with health and biomedical science-related topics. Call the Reference Desk at (612) 626-3260 or use this form to request a consultation. We will contact you within two working days to schedule an appointment.
- RefWorks: Personal Citation Manager

RefWorks is a web-based citation manager that allows you to create your own databases of citations by importing references from MNCAT and other databases, and then in seconds automatically generate bibliographies in all major styles (MLA, APA, Turabian, Chicago, etc.).
[Return to Top]
Further resources. Covers the following topics:
-
Writing Guides
-
Checklist and Other Tools (ASSERT / CONSORT Statements)
-
Style Manuals -- Health Sciences
-
Other Citation Guides & Styles
-
Instructions for Authors
-
Open Access Publishing & Authors Rights
-
Journal Information (Abbreviations, etc.)
-
Dictionaries / Acronyms / Abbreviations
-
Plagiarism
-
Copyright Guidelines
[Return to Top]
Page Coordinator: Katherine Chew chewx002@umn.edu
Top