Summer Hours
(May 17 - Sep 7)
- M-Th 7am-10pm
- F 7am-6pm
- Sa 9am - 6pm
- Su 12noon-10pm
- * CLOSED
- * May 25, Jul 3, Sep 7
|
Health Statistics and Data Sources |
Key resources: Injury maps; Research data center; Data warehouse; Workplace data & statistics; Heath-E stats; Statistical Export & Tabulation System (SETS)
Document collections, such as CDC Prevention Guidelines, are presented in a topic list or table of contents. In some cases, a full text search option is available as well.
Statistical databases and document databases are presented in a series of "fill in the blanks" request forms. You fill in the forms to specify the criteria for your data request, and then send the request to be processed. If the system is delayed processing your request, however, some queries allow you to retrieve your results later, or you can have them e-mailed to you.
Topics include: Chronic diseases; Health practice & prevention; Communicable diseases; Injury prevention; Environmental health; Occupational health; Reference data. Can create charts, maps, etc. Data can be used in Word documents/Excel spreadsheets, etc.
Links to health statistics and data sets as well as resources to support data collection.
Includes overviews, specific conditions, related issues, organizations, children, men, women and seniors
"The Faststats site provides quick access to statistics on topics of public health importance and is organized alphabetically. Links are provided to publications that include the statistics presented, to sources of more data, and to related web pages."
This site also contains the full texts of the Health, United States issues from 1975 to the present. Some issues include a special focus, such as urban & rural health (2001), drugs (2004) or diabetes (2003).
Also contains links to County & City Data Bank ; State & Metropolitan Area Data Bank ; State & County Quicklinks and MapStats: United States.
No.1 (1976) - present available in pdf format.
Also includes --
The MMWR Recommendations and Reports contain in-depth articles that relay policy statements for prevention and treatment on all areas in CDCs scope of responsibility (e.g., recommendations from the Advisory Committee on Immunization Practices).
The CDC Surveillance Summaries provide a means for CDC programs to disseminate surveillance findings, permitting detailed interpretation of trends and patterns based on those findings.
Regular issues cover provisional birth, death, marriage, and divorce statistics.
Four to six special reports are issued per year. Special reports cover final data on births for the previous year, and special topic analyses are issued from time to time.
Historical Volumes: 1890-1936
Bound Volumes: 1900-1984 and 1985-1993
Above volumes available for download
E-Only volumes: 1994-2000 -- Volumes produced only as download or CD-ROM
Reporting of 106 adverse health events within Minnesota hospitals. Includes current report, previous report and summary information.
"Americas Health Rankings™ looks at the three public health components -- personal behaviors, community environment and health policies -- and at the overall health outcomes. It combines individual measures of each of these components with the resultant health outcomes into one, comprehensive view of the health of a state. It employs a unique methodology, developed and periodically reviewed by a panel of leading public health scholars, that weights the contributions of various factors, such as smoking, motor vehicle deaths, high school graduation rates, children in poverty, access to care and incidence of preventable disease, to a communitys health. The report is based on data from the U.S. Departments of Health and Human Services, Commerce, Education and Labor, the National Safety Council and the National Association of State Budget Officers."
These reports are the result of a collaborative design effort between local public health, the Minnesota Department of Health (MDH), and the Minnesota Hospital Association (MHA) to provide information that is useful and can be compared to reports prepared by the MDH. There are three different reports, each prepared at the county level as well as the regional and state level:
* Discharges and Utilization Rates for Selected Diseases (comparable to the General Mortality PDF report found in the Minnesota Department of Healths Minnesota Center for Health Statistics, 2004 Minnesota Health Statistics Annual Summary report).
* Five Leading Causes of Hospitalization (Excluding Births) by Age (includes number of discharges, hospital days and charges)
* Hospitalization Rates by Clinical Classifications Software (CCS) Chapter and Age Group.
Includes data on: births & death; diseases & conditions; health care; immunizations; managed care systems; Minnesota health data; statistical reports and summaries
Searchable statistics for fertility, childhood mortality, contraception, maternity care and child health in developing countries. Includes country statistics and an interactive stats complier.
"DOLPHN was created in response to the numerous data requirements of USAID health staff and AIM Project data analysts to meet indicator-reporting needs. DOLPHN contains over 70 key health indicators obtained from 11 carefully selected and internationally recognized data sources. The various sources of the data use a variety of research methodologies including population-based surveys, estimates, and projections to derive the statistics. Any use of data contained in DOLPHN should reference the original source citation"
"HNPStats is a one-stop data source for health, nutrition and population indicators from various national and international data sources. It provides direct access to more than 100 indicators, with time series for countries and country groups from 1960 to the most recent year, where data are available."
Provides nation comparative statistics on a wide range of health indicators. Each indicator may be viewed as a bar chart or map, with some indicators also available as pie charts.
Sample and frequently requested data available for free. Complete down-loadable database requires a fee.
The Datafinder "contains data on 137 population, health, and environment variables for more than 220 countries, 28 world regions and sub-regions, and the world as a whole. (Not all countries have data on all variables.)"
Two sets of data are contained in the Global Atlas: a main (aggregated) set and a disaggregated set. The aggregated dataset includes estimates of the stock (absolute numbers) and density (per 1000 population) of health workers for up to 9 occupational categories. This includes: (i) physicians; (ii) nursing and midwifery personnel; (iii) dentistry personnel; (iv) pharmaceutical personnel; (v) laboratory health workers; (vi) environmental and public health workers; (vii) community and traditional health workers; (viii) other health service providers; and (ix) health management and support workers, that is, those who do not provide services directly but are critical to the performance of health systems. In the disaggregated dataset, estimates of the stock of health workers are available for some countries for up to 18 occupational categories, reflecting greater distinction of some categories of workers according to assumed differences in skill level and skill specialization. More information on the framework for categorizing health workers can be found in the definition notes. Selected statistics on other dimensions of the health workforce, such as health workforce demographics are also available for some countries.
Statistics by country, core health indicators, burden of disease statistics, statistics by topic, disease or condition and links to other sources of health-related statistics
Published by WHO
"This web site offers easy access to statistics and reports on children and families, including: population and family characteristics, economic security, health, behavior and social environment, and education. The Forum fosters coordination, collaboration, and integration of Federal efforts to collect and report data on conditions and trends for children and families."
Estimates, trends, cases.
Epidemiology, methodology and the AIDS Epidemic Update
Includes the full text of Cancer Facts & Figures
Provides access to information on the occurrence of cancer world-wide held by the Descriptive Epidemiology Group (DEP) of IARC. Statistics on cancer incidence, mortality, and survival in many countries throughout the world; coverage is for many years and cancer types.
Includes access to GLOBOCAN 2002 ; Automated Childhood Cancer Informatin System (ACCIS) and Cancer Incidence in Five Continents (CI5 I-VIII).
Facts and figures. Contains links to previous years reports as well.
Digestive disease statistics for the U.S.
"comprehensive and up-to-date source of statistics on the burden, prevention, treatment and causes of heart disease in the UK."
"The NHLBI Chartbook is a biennial compilation of data on the size and trends of morbidity and mortality from the cardiovascular, lung, and blood diseases. While most charts describe national prevalence, hospitalizations, and mortality statistics, some of them provide additional information by state or country. Risk factors estimates and the economic costs of these diseases are also included."
Annual lists broken down by disease.
Annual report Oral Health, U.S. 2002, downloadable data tables, oral health surveys, both past and present.
These reports, used by policymakers, the media, health care analysts and others, have radically changed our understanding of the efficiency and effectiveness of our health care system. This valuable data forms the foundation for many of the ongoing efforts to improve health and health systems across America.
This website provides access to all Atlas reports and publications, as well as interactive tools to allow visitors to view specific regions and perform their own comparisons and analyses.
HCUPnet is part of the Healthcare Cost and Utilization Project (HCUP) of the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ). HCUPnet generates statistics using data from HCUPs Nationwide Inpatient Sample (NIS), the Kids Inpatient Database (KID), and the State Inpatient Databases (SID).
HCUP data are used for research on hospital utilization, access, charges, quality and outcomes. The data are used to describe patterns of care for uncommon as well as common diseases, to analyze hospital procedures, including those that are performed infrequently, and to study the care of population sub-groups such as minorities, children, women, and the uninsured. Researchers and policymakers use HCUP data to identify, track, analyze and compare hospital statistics at the national, regional and State levels.
For more information go to: HCUP-US Web site: http://www.ahrq.gov/data/hcup/"
Data and analysis on health care plans, expenditures, program rates, trends, consumer research and more.
MEPS currently has two major components: the Household Component and the Insurance Component. The Household Component provides data from individual households and their members, which is supplemented by data from their medical providers. The Insurance Component is a separate survey of employers that provides data on employer-based health insurance.
MEPS also includes a Medical Provider Component (MPC), which covers hospitals, physicians, home health care providers, and pharmacies identified by MEPS-HC respondents. Its purpose is to supplement and/or replace information received from the MEPS-HC respondents.
Highlights compile 2000 data on levels of employment, projected growth and key environmental factors that affect demand for health care. Details for medicine, nursing, dentistry, pharmacy, mental health and aides.
A compilation of data from more than a dozen professional associations and government agencies. With 67 detailed tables, the Factbook paints a comprehensive, descriptive picture of the health care workforce.
"The medical abstract form and the automated data tapes contain items that relate to the personal characteristics of the patient. These items include age, sex, race, ethnicity, marital status, and expected sources of payment. Administrative items such as admission and discharge dates (which allow calculation of length of stay), as well as discharge status are also included. Medical information about patients includes diagnoses and procedures coded to the International Classification of Diseases, 9th Revision, Clinical Modification (ICD-9-CM)."
Fatalities,injuries associated with childrens products (toys, etc.), poisonings, electrocutions, fires, fireworks, sports & recreation and shopping carts.
The Injuries, Illnesses, and Fatalities (IIF) program provides data on illnesses and injuries on the job and data on worker fatalities. Includes customize data tables, publications and overviews
WISQARS (Web-based Injury Statistics Query and Reporting System) is an interactive database system that provides customized reports of injury-related data.
Includes reports on trends, crashes, vehicles, people and states and a search-able database.
Reports fatalities and injuries that occur on public transit systems. All data is United States.
Provides free access to US, state, county, and city maternal & infant health data. Contains over 60,000 graphs, maps and tables.
Currently only births and perinatal mortality is available.
Underlying Cause-Of-Death for years 1979-2003.
Contains mortality and population counts for all U.S. counties. Counts and rates of death can be obtained by underlying cause of death, state, county, age, race, sex, and year.
Features PDF files of "Rural Populations and Health Care Providers: A Map Book". This book, through the use of maps, provides a visual picture of the geographic distribution of rural populations and the health care providers that serve them. For the most complete understanding of the maps, it is suggested you read the introducing text
"The Federal Interagency Forum on Aging-Related Statistics (Forum) was initially established in 1986, with the goal of bringing together Federal agencies that share a common interest in improving aging-related data." Includes links to other age-related statistical information.
The 2006 Older American Update is divided into several sections. You may download the entire chartbook by clicking on the corresponding link or you may select by the individual section."
You can download tables in XLS and charts in pdf
Wide variety of information on aging. Includes Profile of Older Americans and County-State Aging Population Estimates.
NIDA InfoFacts are updated regularly. There is no copyright on any of the materials available through NIDA InfoFacts, and all can be reproduced for further distribution.
National, regional, state and custom reports
National, regional, state and custom reports
Includes fastfacts, annual and national reports.