Writing Guides
- Blue Book of Grammar and Punctuation
This popular book is an indispensable and entertaining guide for writers, proofreaders, editors, managers, clerical staff, teachers, and students. Use this site to find the answers to your questions concerning proper English grammar and punctuation.
- Elements of Style
The electronic version of the classic work by William Strunk, Jr. that
includes rules of grammar and usage, principles of composition, and
commonly misused and misspelled words.
- Guide to grammar & writing
Maintained by Charles Darling, Professor of English at Capital Community College, Hartford CT. Includes sections on words & sentences; paragraphs; essays & research papers; peripheral & PowerPoint. Check the Index to find more "online resources."
- Mayfield Handbook of Technical & Scientific Writing
Authors: Leslie C. Perelman, Edward Barrett, and James Paradis ;
ESL Consultant: Erika Mitchell
The Web-based version of The Mayfield Handbook of Scientific and
Technical Writing is the result
of more than ten years of collaborative development at MIT. The Handbook is the
first hypertextual reference work designed specifically for technical and
scientific writing. MIT authors Leslie Perelman, James Paradis, and Edward
Barrett offer information and advice on grammar and usage, strategies for
planning and producing documents, and common
document formats and citation styles.
- Online Grammar Handbook
"21 chapters of web links to writing, grammar, punctuation & research inclucing links to arguments, literature & sample student papers of many types."
[Return to Top]
Checklists and Other Tools
- CONSORT Statement
"CONSORT comprises a checklist and flow diagram to help improve the quality of reports of randomized controlled trials. It offers a standard way for researchers to report trials. The checklist includes items, based on evidence, that need to be addressed in the report; the flow diagram provides readers with a clear picture of the progress of all participants in the trial, from the time they are randomized until the end of their involvement. The intent is to make the experimental process more clear, flawed or not, so that users of the data can more appropriately evaluate its validity for their purposes."
- STROBE
"STROBE stands for an international, collaborative initiative of epidemiologists, methodologists, statisticians, researchers and editors involved in the conduct and dissemination of observational studies, with the common aim of
STrengthening the Reporting of OBservational studies in Epidemiology."
[Return to Top]
Style Manuals - Health Sciences
- AMA manual of style: a guide for authors and editors
Sect. 1. Preparing an article for publication. Types of articles -- Manuscript preparation -- References -- Visual presentation of data -- Ethical and legal considerations -- Editorial assessment and processing -- Sect. 2. Grammar -- Punctuation -- Plurals -- Capitalization -- Correct and preferred usage -- Non-english words, phrases, and accent marks -- Medical indexes -- Sect. 3. Terminology. Abbreviations -- Nomenclature -- Eponyms -- Greek letters --Sect. 4. Measurement and Quantitation. Units of measure -- Numbers and percentages -- Study design and statistics -- Mathematical composition -- Sect. 5. Technical information. Typography -- Manuscript editing and proofreading -- Glossary of publishing terms -- Resources.
Rev. ed. of: American Medical Association manual of style. 9th ed. c1998.
Location(s): TC Bio-Medical Library Reference WZ345 A511 2007
Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability
- Concise rules of APA style
1. Concise and bias-free writing -- 2. Punctuation, spelling, and capitalization -- 3. Italicizing and abbreviating -- 4. Numbers, metrication, and statistics -- 5. Tables -- 6. Figures -- 7. Footnotes and appendixes -- 8. Quotations, reference citations in text, and reference list -- 9. Reference examples.
Location(s): TC Bio-Medical Library Reference WZ345 C743 2005; Magrath Library Reference BF76.7 .C66 2005
Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability
- Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association
- Writing with style: APA style made easy
Introduction: the laypeople and you -- Some generalizations about how psychologists write -- Preparing the introduction section and the literature review paper -- Preparing the method section -- Preparing the results section -- Preparing the discussion section -- Preparing the abstract -- Preparing the references section -- Preparing a title page and formatting your manuscript -- Grooming tips for psychology papers -- Preparing a presentation -- Wrapping it up.
Location(s): TC Bio-Medical Library BF76.8 S998w 2008
Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability
- APA Style
From the Lydia M. Olson Library, Northern Michigan University
Covers all reference formats. Includes new 2007 Electronic Reference formats: " Referencing online journal articles and some other materials has changed to emphasize using an assigned DOI (digital object identifier). Date of retrieval is no longer included for materials that are unlikely to be changed or updated (PDF/page images). "
- APA Style.org: Electronic References
From the American Psychological Association.
The following web pages are excerpted from the APA Style Guide to Electronic References (© 2007) and the fifth edition of the Publication Manual (© 2001).
The material provided covers commonly asked questions regarding how to cite electronic media.
Please note that there have been changes in APAs style guidelines for electronic resources with the release of the APA Style Guide to Electronic References.
Because electronic media change rapidly, we will update this page regularly as there are additions, changes, or clarifications to APA style.
- Scientific Style and Format: The CBE Manual for Authors, Editors, and Publishers, 7th ed.
Published by the Style Manual Committee, Council of Biology Editors.
Location(s): T11 .S386 1994
MAGRATH; MAGRATH Reference; WALTER Sci/Eng Reference;
Ent/Fish/Wild Library Reference; FORESTRY Ref (Secured); PLANT PATHOLOGY Reference; VETERINARY MEDICINE Reference;
BIO-MED Reference WZ345 C386s 1994
Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability
- National Library of Medicine Recommended Formats for Bibliographic Citation
Includes recommended citation format styles for journals, books, conference publications, patents, audio visuals, electronic information, maps, legal materials, newspaper articles, bibliographies, dissertations, and scientific reports. "Internet formats" supplement available at
http://www.nlm.nih.gov/pubs/formats/internet.pdf Location(s): BIO-MED Reference WZ345 P314n 1991
Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability
- Citing Medicine: the NLM Style Guide for Authors, Editors, and Publishers.
2nd ed., 2007
"Citing Medicine gives information on constructing citations at three levels:
-
1. Diagrammed Citation - Many people need to format a non-complex citation and want to know how to format a citation, without learning why it should be structured that way. The picture of the sample citation and the broad guidelines (what were calling the Introduction) will be enough for many people in this group.
-
2. General Rules and Examples - A smaller number of people will need to view the General Rules and Examples sections to get more information. They either will have a specific problem to solve or their work requires them to build a general knowledge of citation that they can later apply to specific cases. For this group we lay out why citations are structured the way they are and show them what types of citations exist (Examples) and what special, difficult cases they may encounter (Specific Rules).
-
3. Specific Rules - A yet smaller number of people will need to enter the Specific Rules section to solve a specific problem, such as handling non-English citations.
[Return to Top]
Other Citation Guides & Styles
- Chicago Manual of Style Online (15th Edition)

The standard work and most comprehensive of the style manuals. All chapters are written for the electronic age, with advice on how to prepare and edit manuscripts online, handle copyright and permissions issues raised by new technologies, use the latest methods of preparing mathematical copy, and cite electronic and online sources.
Location(s): Bio-Medical Library Reference Z253 U58c 2003 ; Walter Sci/Eng Library Reference (Rm 206) Z253 .U69 2003 ; Wilson Reference (Desk) Z253 .U69 2003
Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability
- ISO 690:1987 Information and documentation -- Bibliographic references - Content, form and structure
Contains excerpts to the International Standard that specifies the elements to be included in bibliographic references to published monographs and serials, to chapters, articles, etc. in such publications and to patent documents. ISO 690-2 covers electronic resources.
- National Center for Health Statistics
- Style manual
This manual was written to foster consistency in University publications. It is intended not to dictate, but rather to suggest solutions to common writing and editing problems. It includes a body of rules that reflect current usage, plus a number of rules that pertain specifically to the University of Minnesota
Location(s): Wilson Reference Z253 .S92x 2002
[Return to Top]
Instructions for Authors
- Author's handbook of styles for life science journals
Each journal entry contains publishers address, aim and scope, and information on manuscript information and format. Includes instructions for authors for submission of articles to English-language life sciences journals.
Location(s): Bio-Medical Library Reference WZ345 A881a 1996; Ent/Fish/Wild Library Reference R119 .A85 1995; Magrath Library Reference R119 .A85 1995; Veterinary Medical Library Reference R119 .A85 1995
Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability
- Author's Addendum
"The SPARC Authors Addendum is a form you use to amend the document that your publisher asks you to sign. Developed for SPARC by Michael Carroll of the Villanova University School of Law, the addendum is designed to be filled out and attached to the agreement supplied by the journal publisher.
By using the SPARC Authors Addendum you will, for example, retain the right to make your article available in a non-commercial open digital archive on the Web (such as the National Institutes of Healths PubMed Central or your institutions open digital archive) or to make copies of your article for use in the classes you teach."
- Instructions to Authors in the Health Sciences.
These pages provide links to Web sites which provide instructions to authors for over 3,500 journals in the health and life sciences. All links are to "primary sources" - that is, to publishers and organizations with editorial responsibilities for the titles. Maintained by the Raymon H. Mulford Library, Medical College of Ohio.
- SHERPA/RoMEO
Publisher copyright policies and self-archiving.
This site can be used to find a summary of permissions that are normally given as part of each publishers copyright transfer agreement. Searchable by journal title or publisher name. Can also be browsed by RoMEO colors, which differentiate between different archiving policies.
- green: can archive pre-print and post-print
- blue: can archive post-print
- yellow: can archive pre-print
- white: archiving not formally supported
[Return to Top]
NIH Public Access Policy
- NIH Public Access Policy
Information on
- Journals that [automatically]submit to PubMed Central
- submission policies
- frequently asked questions
- policy details
[Return to Top]
Journal Information
- Genamics JournalSeek: Medicine
Genamics JournalSeek is the largest completely categorized database of freely available journal information available on the internet. Presently contains 60,458 titles. Journal information includes the description (aims and scope), journal abbreviation, journal homepage link, subject category and ISSN.
- Journal Info
Companion database to the Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ).
The purpose of the website is to provide an aid for the researcher in the selection of journal for publication. Provides information on accessibility (open access or not), cost (price per article / price per citation / profit status), quality (where indexed, journal eigenfactor), etc.
- PubMed Journal Database
Search by title keyword or part of a word. Provides MEDLINE journal abbreviation, complete journal title, publisher and ISSN. Also has link to webpage containing list of PubMed journals that provide links to full text articles (all full-text, not just free full text)
- SCImago Journal & Country Rank
A portal that includes the journals and country scientific indicators developed from the information contained in the Scopus® database (Elsevier B.V.). These indicators can be used to assess and analyze scientific domains.
This platform takes its name from the SCImago Journal Rank (SJR) indicatorpdf, developed by SCImago from the widely known algorithm Google PageRank™. This indicator shows the visibility of the journals contained in the Scopus® database from 1996.
- Ulrich's Periodicals Directory

This directory, also known as ulrichsweb dot com lists information for nearly a quarter-million serial records such as newspapers, popular and trade magazines, and academic and scholarly journals; The listings include active, ceased, and forthcoming publications, and they can be searched by country, subject headings, circulation numbers, and many more options.
Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability
[Return to Top]
Dictionaries / Acronyms / Abbreviations
- Acronym Finder.com
Searchable database of more than 317,000 abbreviations and acronyms about computers, technology, telecommunications, and military acronyms and abbreviations
- Bio-Tech Life Science Dictionary
8300+ terms deal with biochemistry, biotechnology, botany, cell biology and genetics. Also some terms relating to ecology, limnology, pharmacology, toxicology and medicine
- Multilingual glossary of technical and popular medical terms in nine european languages
-an English dictionary of 1,830 medical terms, frequently used in written drug information
- nine glossaries of 1830 scientific and popular medical terms, one in each of the nine official languages of the European Union.
- an electronic database of the dictionary and glossaries
- a user-friendly software interface as an Internet application, installed at the World-Wide Web server of the University of Gent, Belgium
- On-line medical dictionary
OMD is a searchable dictionary created by Dr Graham Dark and contains terms relating to biochemistry, cell biology, chemistry, medicine, molecular biology, physics, plant biology, radiobiology, science and technology. It includes: acronyms, jargon, theory, conventions, standards, institutions, projects, eponyms, history, in fact anything to do with medicine or science
- Veterinary abbreviations and acronyms
This list focuses on abbreviations and acronyms commonly used in veterinary practice and supplements the standard and widely available reference sources such as Gales Acronyms, Initialisms & Abbreviations Dictionary. It is intended for use by veterinary students, researchers, practitioners, and librarians. University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign Veterinary Medicine Library
[Return to Top]
Copyright Guidelines
- Copyright Clearance Center
Here you can get permission to reproduce copyrighted content such as articles and book chapters in your journals, photocopies, coursepacks, library reserves, Web sites, e-mail and more.
- Copyright Information and Education (U of M Libraries)
The site of the University of Minnesota Libraries Copyright Information and Education Initiative, which supports an informed and educated University community on matters of copyright and its application in teaching, research, and scholarship. Includes tools such as a Fair Use Analysis Tool and Copyright Decision Map.
- United States Copyright Office
Key publications, including informational circulars; application forms for copyright registration; links to the copyright law and to the homepages of other copyright-related organizations; news of what the Office is doing, including business-process reengineering plans, Congressional testimony and press releases, regulations; a link to online copyright records cataloged since 1978; and much more.
[Return to Top]
Page Coordinator: Katherine Chew chewx002@umn.edu
Top
Last Updated: March 2, 2006, 1:55 pm