Scientific Writing Development Series: Session I, April 13th
Location: 1-450G Moos Tower
Panel participants:
Mary Knatterud, PhD, Department of Surgery
Katherine Chew, MLS, Bio-Medical Library
Anne Marie Weber-Main, PhD, Dept of Family Medicine & Community Health
Brenda Hudson, MS, Office of Clinical Research
Books: Dictionaries
- The American Heritage Dictionary of the English Language
4th ed. Houghton Mifflin Co., 2000.
Location: Bio-Medical Library Reference PE1628 A512 2000
- Dorland's Illustrated Medical Dictionary
30th ed. Saunders, 2003
Location: Bio-Medical Library Reference W13 D711d 2003
- Stedman's Medical Dictionary
28th ed. Lippincott Williams & Wilkins, 2006
Location: Bio-Medial Library Reference W13 S812m 2006
[Return to Top]
Books: General Style Guides
- A Field guide to writing.
Anson, Chris M., & Wilcox, Lance E. HarperCollins, 1992
Location: Wilson Library PE1408 .A6184 1992
- The Chicago manual of style
15th ed. University of Chicago Press, 2003
Location: Bio-Medical Library Reference Z253 U58c 2003
- Bird by bird: some instructions on writing and life.
Lamott, Anne. Pantheon Books, 1994.
Location: Wilson Library PN147 .L315 1994
- The New York Public Library Writer's guide to style and usage.
HarperCollins, 1994.
Location: Wilson Library Reference PE1421 .N46 1994
- The Elements of style.
Strunk, William Jr. & White, E.B. 4th ed. Macmillan Publishing, 2000.
Location: Bio-Medical Library Reference PE1408 S927e 2000
- Writing with style: conversations on the art of writing
Trimble, John R., 2nd ed., Prentice-Hall, 2000
Location: Magrath Library PE1408 .T69 2000
- On writing well: an informal guide to writing nonfiction.
Zinsser, William. 5th rev ed., Harper & Row, 1994
Location: Journalism Library PE1429 .Z5 1994
- 4th ed., rev., updated, and enl., Perennial Library, 1990
Location: Magrath Library PE1429 .Z5 1990
Location: Wilson Library PE1429 .Z5 1990
[Return to Top]
Books: Medical Style Guides
- The clinician's guide to medical writing
Taylor, Robert B. 2005
Getting started in medical writing -- Basic writing skills -- From page one to the end -- Technical issues in medical writing -- Whats special about medical writing? -- How to write a review article -- Case reports, editorials, letters to the editor, book reviews, and other publication models -- Writing book chapters and books -- How to write a report of a clinical study -- Getting your writing published -- Append. 1. Glossary of terms used in medical writing -- Append. 2. Commonly used proffreaders marks -- Append. 3. Commonly used medical abbreviations -- Append. 4. Normal laboratory values for adult patients.
* Location: TC Bio-Medical Library WZ345 T245c 2005
- Dx + Rx: A physician's guide to medical writing
Dirckx, John H. G.K.Hall, 1977
- Essays for biomedical communicators: Volume I and II of selected AMWA workshops
Witte, Florence M. & Taylor, Nancy Dew. American Medical Writers Association. Vol (2001), Vol II (1997)
- How to write and publish a scientific paper
Day, Robert A. & Gastel, Barbara. 6th ed. Greenwood Press, 2006.
Part I: Some Preliminaries --
Chapter 1:
What is Scientific Writing? --
Chapter 2:
Historical Perspectives --
Chapter 3:
Approaching a Writing Project --
Chapter 4 :
What Is a Scientific Paper? --
Chapter 5:
Ethics in Scientific Publishing --
Chapter 6 :
Where to Submit Your Manuscript --
Part II: Preparing the Text --
Chapter 7:
How to Prepare the Title --
Chapter 8:
How to List the Authors and Addresses --
Chapter 9:
How to Prepare the Abstract --
Chapter 10:
How to Write the Introduction --
Chapter 11:
How to Write the Materials and Methods Section --
Chapter 12_
How to Write the Results --
Chapter 13:
How to Write the Discussion --
Chapter 14:
How to State the Acknowledgments --
Chapter 15:
How to Cite the References --
Part III: Preparing the Tables and Figures --
Chapter 16:
How to Design Effective Tables --
Chapter 17:
How to Prepare Effective Graphs --
Chapter 18:
How to Prepare Effective Photographs --
Part IV: Publishing the Paper --
Chapter 19 :
Rights and Permissions --
Chapter 20:
How to Submit the Manuscript --
Chapter 21:
The Review Process (How to Deal with Editors)--
Chapter 22:
The Publishing Process (How to Deal with Proofs) --
Part V: Doing Other Writing for Publication --
Chapter 23:
How to Write a Review Paper --
Chapter 24:
How to Write Opinion (Book Reviews, Editorials, and Letters to the Editor)--
Chapter 25:
How to Write a Book Chapter or a Book --
Chapter 26:
How to Write for the Public --
Part VI: Conference Communications --
Chapter 27:
How to Present a Paper Orally --
Chapter 28:
How to Prepare a Poster --
Chapter 29:
How to Write a Conference Report --
Part VII: Scientific Style --
Chapter 30:
Use and Misuse of English --
Chapter 31:
Avoiding Jargon --
Chapter 32:
How and When to Use Abbreviations --
Chapter 33:
Writing Clearly Across Cultures and Media --
Chapter 34:
How to Write Science in English as a Foreign Language --
Part VIII: Other Topics in Scientific Communication --
Chapter 35:
How to Write a Thesis --
Chapter 36:
How to Prepare a Curriculum Vitae --
Chapter 37:
How to Prepare Grant Proposals and Progress Reports --
Chapter 38:
How to Write a Recommendation Letter-and How to Ask for One --
Chapter 39 :
How to Work with the Media --
Chapter 40 :
How to Provide Peer Review --
Chapter 41:
How to Seek a Scientific-Communication Career --
Appendix 1:
Selected Journal Title Word Abbreviations --
Appendix 2 :
Words and Expressions to Avoid --
Appendix 3:
Prefixes and Abbreviations for SI (Système International) Units --
Glossary of Technical Terms
Location: Walter Sci/Eng Library Books (Level F) T11 .D33 2006 ; Bio-Medical Library Reference (On Order)
- An Insider's guide for medical authors and editors.
Morgan, Peter. ISI Press, 1986.
Location: Bio-Medical Library WZ345 M849i 1986
- Medical English usage and abusage
Schwager, Edith. Oryx Press, 1991.
Location: Veterinary Medical Library R119 .S38 1991
- Medical writing: a prescription for clarity
Goodman, N.W. 3rd ed. Cambridge Univesrity Press, 2006
Pt. I. Problem: the illness. Introduction -- The malaise of medical manuscripts -- Pt. II. Solution: symptomatic relief. Guidelines to clearer writing -- Is there a better word? -- Superfluous words -- Imprecise words and phrases -- Superfluous phrases -- Trouble with short words -- Use of the passive voice -- Consistency: number and tenses -- Circumlocution, metaphor and cliche -- Word order and pronouns -- Punctuation -- Constructing sentences -- Drawing clear graphs -- Pt. III. Practice: recuperation. Some examples rewritten -- Do the experts agree?
* Location: TC Bio-Medical Library WZ345 G653m 2006
- Presenting science to the public.
Gastel, Barbara. ISI Press, 1983
Location: Magrath Library Q223 .G38 1983
- Scientific English: a guide for scientists and other professionals
Day, Robert A. 2nd ed. Oryx Press, 1995
Location: Bio-Medical Library Reference PE1475 D274s 1995
- Scientific papers and presentations.
Davis, Martha. rev ed. 2005
The semantic environment of science -- Before you begin -- Organizing and writing a rough draft -- Searching and reviewing scientific literature -- The proposal -- The graduate thesis -- Publishing in scientific journals -- Style and accuracy in the final draft -- Reviewing and revising -- Titles and abstracts -- Presenting data -- Ethical and legal issues -- Scientific presentations -- Communication without words -- Visual aids to communication -- The oral presentation -- Poster presentations -- Group communications -- Communicating with other audiences -- To the international student -- Append. 1. Weaknesses in scientific writing -- Append. 2. The first draft -- Append. 3. Sample manuscript -- Append. 4. Sample literature review -- Append. 5. Sample proposal -- Append. 6. Alternate routes to the thesis -- Append. 7. Sample review of manuscript submitted for publication -- Append. 8. Evolution of a title -- Append. 9. Evolution of an abstract -- Append. 10. Putting data into tables and figures -- Append. 11. Sample letter requesting copyright permission -- Append. 12. Use of color in visual aids -- Append. 13. Sample slides and slide set -- Append. 14. Oral presentations at meetings -- Append. 15. Sample text for poster.
Location: TC Bio-Medical Library WZ345 D263s 2005
- Why not say it clearly: a guide to scientific writing.
King, Lester S. Little, Brown, 1978
Location: Bio-Medical Library WZ345 K531w 1978
- Writing and publishing in medicine.
Huth, Edward J., 3rd ed. 1999.
Pt. 1. Before Writing. 1. A Systematic Method for Writing and Publishing Papers. 2. The Paper, the Audience, and the Right Journal. 3. Searching the Literature. 4. Preparing to Write: Materials and Tools -- Pt. 2. The Content and Format of Papers. 5. Critical Argument and the Structure of Scientific Papers. 6. The Research Paper: General Principles for Structure and Content. 7. The Research Paper: Reporting Clinical Trials and Observational Studies. 8. The Research Paper: Reporting Laboratory Research. 9. The Review Article and the Metaanalysis. 10. The Case Report and the Case-Series Analysis. 11. The Editorial, the Book Review, and the Letter-to-the Editor -- Pt. 3. Writing and Revising. 12. The First Draft: Text. 13. The First Draft: Titles and Abstracts. 14. The First Draft: Tables. 15. The First Draft: Illustrations. 16. Revising Content and Structure. 17. Revising Prose Structure and Style. 18. Writing English as a Foreign Language.
19. Scientific Style and References. 20. Preparing the Final Manuscript -- Pt. 4. You and the Journal. 21. Submitting the Paper to the Journal. 22. Peer Reviewing and the Editors Decision. 23. Correcting Edited Manuscript or Proof. 24. Between Proof and Publication -- Pt. 5. Books. 25. Writing or Editing a Book. App. A. Guidelines on Authorship -- App. B. The "Uniform Requirements" Document: An Abridged Version -- App. C. Specialized Databases of The National Library of Medicine -- App. D. Searching Index Medicus: The Print Alternative to MEDLINE -- App. E. References and Reading: An Annotated Bibliography.
Location: Bio-Medical Library WZ345 H979w 1999
- Writing basics for the healthcare professional
Benjamin-Lesmeister, Michele. 2007
Unit1. Grammar basics -- Unit 2. Sentence basics -- Unit 3. Expanding sentence basics -- Unit 4. Effective sentence structures -- Unit 5. Common sentence errors -- Unit 6. Achieving more in sentence variety -- Unit 7. Paragraph basics -- Unit 8. Writing skills with definition -- Unit 9. Writing skills with summaries -- Unit 10. Writing skills with process/ sequence -- Unit 11. Writing skills with analysis -- Unit 12. Writing on essay.
Location: TC Bio-Medical Library PE1413 B468w 2007
- Styles Manuals in the Health Sciences
Style Manual section of the Bio-Medical Library webpage "Writing Guides & Style Manuals in the Biological & Health Sciences." Links to online style manuals, such as AMA, APA, CBE, ACS, Vancouver and Harvard style.
- Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association
5th ed. American Psychological Press, 2001
1. Content and organization of a manuscript -- 2. Expression of ideas and reducing bias in language -- 3. APA editorial style -- 4. Reference list -- 5. Manuscript preparation and sample papers to be submitted for publication -- 6. Material other than journal articles -- 7. Manuscript acceptance and production -- 8. Journals program of the American Psychological Association -- 9. Bibliography.
Location: Bio-Medical Library Reference WZ345 P976 2001
[Return to Top]
Books: Rhetorical Elements of Writing
- Writing with power: techniques for mastering the writing process.
Elbow, Peter. 2nd ed. Oxford University Press, 1998.
Location: Magrath Library PE1408 .E39 1998
[Return to Top]
Journal Articles
- Can co-authors remain friends?
Fess, EE. (1994)
Journal of Hand Therapy, 7(4), 255-6
- Challenging writer's block: how experienced authors make time to write
Morton, P.G. (2000).
AAOHN Journal, 48(11), 512-514.
Location: Bio-Medical Library stack #1
- The Science of scientific writing.
Gopen, George & Swan, Judith.
This Article appeared in the American Scientist (Nov-Dec 1990), Volume 78, 550-558. Retyped and
posted with permission.[at the American Statistical Association website / Journal of Computational & Graphical Statistics]
- Writing scholarly papers as a team
Davidhizar R. & Dowd S. (1998)
Health Care Supervisor, 16(4), 53-60.
[Return to Top]
Internet Resources
- Online Grammar Handbook
A Grammar Guide--21 Chapters of Links to Grammar, Punctuation, Writing, and
Research Help, and to Full-text Literature, Arguments, and 100+ Sample Student Papers.
Author/Editor: Richard Jewell, Inver Hills College, Minnesota State Colleges and Universities (MnSCU)
Originally written and published under the auspices of the Univ. of Minn.-Twin Cities English Dept.
First date of publication: January 1, 2001. Most recent update: 11 Nov. 2006
[Return to Top]
Library Resources
- Meet With a Librarian
The Bio-Medical Library at the University of Minnesota offers a Reference Consultation Service to University of Minnesota faculty, staff and students to provide in-depth reference assistance with health and biomedical science-related topics. Call the Reference Desk at (612) 626-3260 or use this form to request a consultation. We will contact you within two working days to schedule an appointment.
- RefWorks: Personal Citation Manager

RefWorks is a web-based citation manager that allows you to create your own databases of citations by importing references from MNCAT and other databases, and then in seconds automatically generate bibliographies in all major styles (MLA, APA, Turabian, Chicago, etc.).
[Return to Top]
Further resources. Covers the following topics:
-
Writing Guides
-
Checklist and Other Tools (ASSERT / CONSORT Statements)
-
Style Manuals -- Health Sciences
-
Other Citation Guides & Styles
-
Instructions for Authors
-
Open Access Publishing & Authors Rights
-
Journal Information (Abbreviations, etc.)
-
Dictionaries / Acronyms / Abbreviations
-
Plagiarism
-
Copyright Guidelines
[Return to Top]
Page Coordinator: Katherine Chew chewx002@umn.edu
Top