Accessibility Shortcuts

Skip to Content Skip to Main Navigation
UofM wordmark
185x140Header
HAVE A QUESTION? ASK US!
Email | IM | Chat | Contacts
(612) 626-4045
get firefox, the browser you can trust

Finding Tests, Surveys, and Questionnaires

Print Page Print Page

 
The University of Minnesota Libraries have many resources for locating copies and/or reviews of standard tests, surveys, questionnaires and other measurement instruments. Resources in the Bio-Medical Library cover the general areas of health and human psychology, while Wilson Library emphasizes psychology and educational tests. Listed below are some of the resources at the Bio-Medical Library that you may find useful.  
Books
  • Assessment scales in old age psychiatry
    Alistar Burns, Brain Lawlor, Sarah Craig.

    Compendium of over 150 scales useful for measuring depression, neurospychiatric issues, quality of life, delirium and memory in older adults. Location: Bio-Medical Library WT150 B967a 2004

  • Child health assessment: a handbook of measurement techniques.
    James R. Rodrigue, Gary R. Geffkin, Randi M. Streisand

    Reviews of more than 100 child health instruments; includes information on: author names(s), instrument title and description, availability, samples for whom the measure is appropriate, sample items, scoring details, reliability and validity, and published references. Location: Bio-Medical Library WS 200 R696c 2000

  • A compendium of neuropsychological tests: administration, norms and commentary
    2nd ed. / Otfried Spreen.

    Reviews of neuropsychological tests listed by topic. Reviews include the purpose, source, description, administration and scoring of commonly used tests. Location: Bio-Medical Library REF WL39 S768c 1998

  • Handbook of neurologic rating scales
    Robert M. Herndon.

    A variety of neurological scales designed for patient assessment in areas such as movement, rehabilitation. Traumatic brain injury, pediatric development and epilepsy. Tests are included. Location: Bio-Medical Library REF WL 141 H23648 1997

  • Handbook of psychiatric measures
    Task Force for the Handbook of Psychiatric Measures.

    For each psychiatric measure, its goals, description, practical issues, psychometric properties, clinical utility and references are included. An accompanying CD-ROM includes copies of many of the measures in the handbook. Location: Bio-Medical Library REF WM 34 A512 2000

  • Health measurement scales: a practical guide to their development and use.
    3rd ed. / David L. Streiner and Geoffrey R. Norman

    Basic concepts to ethical considerations. Location: Bio-Medical Library WA 950 S915h 2003

  • Instruments for clinical health-care research
    3rd ed. / editors, Marilyn Frank-Stromborg, Sharon J. Olsen.

    Location: Bio-Medical Library WY20.5 I59 2004

  • Maternal substance use assessment methods reference manual: a review of screening and clinical assessment instruments for examining material use of alchol, tobacco, and other drugs
    Us Dept of Health and Human Services.

    Reviews a wide range of clinical screening and assessment instruments that are available to evaluate alcohol, tobacco, and drug use in adults, adolescents and pregnant women. Location: Bio-Medical Library WM 270 M425 1993

  • Measurement of nursing outcomes.
    2nd ed. / editors, Ora Lea Strickland, Colleen Dilorio.

    Lists nearly 80 instruments for assessing nursing outcomes that focus on various settings in nursing practice. Each survey is presented as a chapter with detailed information on its purpose, administration, scoring and validity. Location: Bio-Medical Library WY 16 M484 2001

  • Measurement tools in patient education
    2nd ed. / edited by Barbara K. Redman.

    Provides a compendium of patient teaching tools that can be used for such things as assessment of patient’s educaitonal needs, evaluation of effectiveness of patient education, tracking effectiveness of patient care and improving quality of care by using outcomes to improve interventions. Location: Bio-Medical Library REF W85 M485 2003

  • Measures for psychological assessment: a guide to 3,000 original sources and their application
    Ki-Taek Chun, Sidney Cobb, John R.P. French, Jr.

    Lists the original journal articles where measurements and test were first recorded. Index is by subject and author, but not by test. Location: Bio-Medical Library REF Z 5814.P8 C559m 1975

  • Measuring disease: a review of disease-specific quality of life measurement scales
    2nd ed. / Ann Bowling.

    Supplements the information found in Measuring Health (see below). Health-related quality of lifes, the cancers, psychiatric, respiratory, neurological, cardiovascular, rheumatological conditions and other disease and condition specific scales. Location: Bio-Medical Library WA 900.1 B787me 2001

  • Measuring health: a guide to rating scales and questionnaires
    2nd ed. / Ian McDowell, Claire Newell.

    Reviews of tests and rating scales used by clinicians to measure physical or psychological status. Test cover topics such as physical disability, social health, well-being, depression, mental status and pain measurement. Location: Bio-Medical Library REF WA 900.1 M478m 1996

  • Mental Measurements Yearbook (Online)
    Reviews of tests and rating scales used by clinicians to measure physical or psychological aspects of patients. Tests are listed by functionality and cover topics such as physical disability, social health, well-being, depression, mental status, pain measurement, and quality of life.
  • Primary care tools for clinicians: a compendium of forms, questionnaires, and rating scales for everyday practice
    Lorraine Loretz.

    Measurement tools and rating scales. Includes behavorial and psychiatric instruments, geriatric assessment tools, health status measures, pain scales, social and spiritual assessments tools and more. Location: Bio-Medical Library REF WB290 L869p 2005

  • Rating scales in mental health
    Martha Sajatovic, Luis F. Ramirez.

    First part of the book outlines general concepts in the use of rating scales. The second part contains 113 psychiatric rating scales that cover diagnosis of psychiatric disorders, quality of life, substance abuse, suicide risk, aggression, eating disorders, premenstrual dysphoric disorder, sleep disorders, sexual disorders, geriatric rating scales, and rating scales for children. All scales are described with an overview, general applications, selected psychometric preperties, references, copyright holder and contact information, scale administration and time to complete. If the scale is in the public domain or copyright had been obtained, it will be reproduced in full or in part. Location: Bio-Medical Library WM34 S158r 2003

  • Test critiques
    1984-1994 (10 volumes)

    Individual reviews of psychological tests in multiple volumes. Reviews include an introduction, practical application, uses and technical aspects of each test. A cumulative index is found in the most recent volume. Location: Bio-Medical Library: REF BF 176 T342

  • Tests: a comprehensive reference for assessments in psychology, education, and business
    5th ed. / edited by Taddy Maddox.

    Contains assessment test information for psychology, education and business. Also copyright date, population, purpose, description, format, scoring, cost and publisher of each test. Location: Bio-Medical Library REF BF176.T345 2003

  • Tests in Print Authentication Required
    Produced by the Buros Institute of Mental Measurements at the University of Nebraska, Tests in Print (TIP) serves as a comprehensive bibliography to all known commercially available tests that are currently in print in the English language; TIP provides vital information to users including test purpose, test publisher, in-print status, price, test acronym, intended test population, administration times, publication date(s), and test author(s). • Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Databases
  • CINAHL Authentication Required

    CINAHL, Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health, has a multidisciplinary scope covering nursing, 17 allied health disciplines, biomedicine, consumer health, health sciences librarianship and selected standards of professional practice.

    Search on the subject for which you want to test and then use the publication limit "questionnaires/scales." CINAHL is also searchable by instrument name.

  • ERIC (Access via U.S. Dept. of Ed.)

    ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) provides access to education-related journal and non-journal literature. Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education, it provides full citations and abstracts for journal articles, books, curricula, government documents, dissertations, reports, and other educational materials.

    To find test and questionnaires, use the advanced search feature and then limit the publication type to tests/questionnaires.

  • Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI) Authentication Required

    Describes instruments used to assess health and behavior of infants, children, adolescents, adults, and the elderly. Topics covered include public health, communication, psychology, management, nursing, organizational behavior, medicine, sociology, physical education, psychiatry, human resources, gerontology and dental medicine. Covers questionnaires, interview schedules, observation checklists and manuals, index measures, coding schemes, scenarios and vignettes, rating scales, projective techniques and tests. Includes title, author, publication resource, development date, publication date, subjects, description and reliability and validity information. International coverage.

  • MEDLINE
    • MEDLINE (OVID) Authentication Required

      Ovid MEDLINE covers the fields of medicine, public health, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, and the preclinical sciences.

    • PubMed - U of M Students, Staff & Faculty Authentication Required

      Includes MEDLINE and Pre-MEDLINE. Primary source of journal article access for the health sciences - the campus version provides full text access to all Medline e-journals subscribed to by the University of Minnesota TC Libraries.

      • Search terms in MEDLINE

        Combine the subject which you want to test with a methods subject heading. Examples:

      • Data Collection
      • Questionnaires
      • Health Surveys
      • Health Status Indicators
      • Psychiatric Status Rating Scales
  • PsycINFO Authentication Required

    Covers all areas of psychology, including experimental and developmental, communications, social processes and issues, personality, physical and psychological disorders, professional issues, applied psychology, educational psychology, behavioral literature in such related fields as law, business and medicine. Provides bibliographic citations and abstracts to articles from more than 1300 international journals in psychology and related fields. Also indexes books and book chapters.

    Search on the subject you want to test and then limit to the classification code "tests & testing."


Internet Resources
  • Educational Testing Service Network (ETS): TestLink

    "The ETS Test Collection is a library of more than 25,000 tests and other measurement devices that makes information on standardized tests and research instruments available to researchers, graduate students, and teachers. Collected from the early 1900s to the present, ETS Test Collection is the largest such compilation in the world."

    Searchable by title, author, keyword, acronym. The advanced search function allows for boolean logic and wildcards/truncation (*). The tests in this collection were acquired from a variety of U.S. publishers and individual test authors. Foreign tests are also included in the collection, including some from Canada, Great Britain, and Australia.

  • METRIC: Measurement Excellence and Training Resource Information Center

    The Measurement Excellence and Training Resource Information Center (METRIC) is a Resource Center within the VA Health Services Research & Development Service.

    Site has a "Find an Instrument" section which includes Information on (1) Book Compendium Reviews: Reviews of books containing instruments or instrument information. (2) Internet Sites Reviews: Reviews of web site that offer instruments or instrument information. (3) METRIC Instrument Reviews: In-depth reviews of specific instruments that are of relevance to VA researchers. Site also includes a "Foundations of Measurement" section which covers theories, terms and recommended readings

  • National Quality Measures Clearinghouse

    "The National Quality Measures Clearinghouse™ (NQMC), sponsored by the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ), U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, is a database and Web site for information on specific evidence-based health care quality measures and measure sets. NQMC is sponsored by AHRQ to promote widespread access to quality measures by the health care community and other interested individuals."

    Each domain of measurement in NQMC -- Access, Outcome, Patient Experience, Process, and Structure -- offers a different insight into health care quality.

  • PROQOLID: the Patient-Reported Outcome and Quality of Life Instruments Database

    Managed by Mapi Research Trust. The information on the PROQOLID web site is structured in two levels, free access and subscribed. The following information is available on the free access level: (1) Full and abbreviated name of the questionnaire, (2) author(s), (3) objective (4) pathology (5) disease (6) type of instrument (7) population (8) mode of administration (9) original language (10) number of items (11) list of existing translations (12) time recall (13) exitence of a database. Subscriber level includes more information, such as reviews and user manuals

  • RAND Health: Surveys and Tools

    "Over its 35-year history, RAND Health has produced many practical surveys and tools for improving quality of care, many which are available on this site for your use."

  • Test Reviews Online

    Searchable index of the material found in the Mental Measurements Yearbook. Index can be searched alpabetically, by category or by keyword. Entries contain the following information: (1) title (2) author(s) (3) purpose (4) acronym (5) publisher (6) publisher’s address (7) notes and (8) where the instrument is reviewed.



Page Coordinator: Katherine Chew chewx002@umn.edu
Top

New: Code Snippets (Beta)

Want this Guide Page on Your Blog, WebCT Class or Other Web Page?

Just copy and Paste the Code Snippet Below into your web page. Learn More